Chinese Pork Buns (Cha Siu Bao) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Made this for the first time. The filling is a little different than what I am used to but it was good. The dough was very tough and hard to work with. I thought it was a little dry but I just added a little more water to the mix and kneaded the best I could. Kitchen Aid was working too hard so I ended up doing it manually. I was worried the dough was too heavy but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
The bao dough was fantastic. The dough was a bit dry so I added an bit more water. I wanted to make it similar to the whole wheat edamame at wow boa, so I substituted one cup of AP flour for wheat and then added a tablespoon of agave nectar. The filling included edamame, shrimp, ginger, lemon juice, garlic, and scallions which turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Good recipe.. my husband said they were a nice reminder of the buns he used to have in our chinatown. Never made them, but pleasantly surprised..I also added a bit of extra hoisin sauce to the pork mixture.. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNANDREW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
The taste was wonderful. In the recipe it says finely chopped pork, but the directions say to cut into 1/2 cubes. I think it would be best if the pork is shredded and a little more than 1 pound for 24, maybe 1 1/2 lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrangell, Alaska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
These are wonderful. I make them all the time in big batches and freeze the ones that we don't eat for dinner since they freeze really well and can just be microwaved later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
The dough needs a little tweaking (more water). I kind of eyeball it and add more. I also use a rolling pin to get the balls flatter so they can hold more filling. Overall, this is an excellent recipe and I've made it repeatedly. Also, raw bao freezes well (just steam them a little longer than usual)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scaevola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
dough was really good but cut recipe it in half and kept serving @ 24 for less doughy bun.skipped the marinating stage also substituted the hoisin with Major Gray mango chutney and added arugula, garlic, ginger and Thai chili paste. steam time aprox. 6 min. wife absolutely adores them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spaeron

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This recipe was very time consuming, but ultimately worth it. It made large, plump buns that my family adored. I did add another 1/4 cup of water to the dough, and I could have used almost twice the meat and sauce filling. I think I'll make the dough sweeter next time. I will absolutely try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
no way to make this dough stretchy & pliable unless there is Maybe, a bread machine. Had to toss about a cup of flour & hoping for the best of the 5 C left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Not as good as the buns I made without baking powder, using yeast only. The baking powder adds a chemical taste and makes them much less palatable. Reduce the amount to 1/2 teaspoon IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States