Chinese Pepper Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Awesome dish! Try it with yellow, red, and green peppers for color and taste. We also added a litle more ginger than recommended. We will surely make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty185

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chalmette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
My family enjoyed this recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
A recipe my hubby actually said "you can make this one again". Usually he has suggestions on how he would have changed the recipe. The only changes I made was to use fresh garlic and fresh ginger. I keep those tubes in the fridge since we use a lot of garlic and ginger. I make an Asian inspired meal once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pataskala, Ohio, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Family loved it. I used low sodium soup and reduced sodium soy sauce, so did not have the problem of it being too salty. Only used about 1/2 c yellow bell pepper because family does not like it much. I used about 1 1/2 teaspoon of ginger also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This is definitely a 5 STAR recipe! Hubby and I loved it! Made a few slight modifications though. I used 2 red bell peppers and 2 green bell peppers, but I think one could get by adding just 3 large peppers (perhaps 1-red, 1-yellow, and 1-green). I also used a low sodium soy sauce, and since I didn't have exactly 2 tablespoons of cornstarch... I used 1 tablespoon of cornstarch and 1 tablespoon of flour (which worked well), I added a bit more ginger (also added an 1/8 tsp.), and instead of adding all garlic salt, I added an 1/8 teaspoon of garlic salt, and an 1/8 teaspoon of garlic powder. I didn't need to sear the meat for 10 minutes, mine was cooked within 6 minutes. I also added a 1/4 teaspoon of dried red pepper flakes, to make this dish a bit more flavorable. I wanted to point out, after I trimmed up my 2 lbs. of round steak, I ended up with about 1 lb. plus 10-12 oz. of meat. I found this made 5 servings rather than 8. Served this one night with instant white rice, and the leftovers another night with instant brown rice. I look forward to making this dish again; as it was exceptionally good!! TUNA'S MOM, thanks for posting this recipe. This recipe is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Wow this was so good. The meat was tender and full of flavor. A repeat recipe that is for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I think this recipe is 5 stars as is. Only changes I made was to season the meat before cooking and I added onions with the peppers and cooked a bit before adding the sauce. Flavorful, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
just tried this recipe. Used meat tenderizer before browning the steak. Used yellow red and green peppers, flour instead of cornstarch and skipped the ginger. It was AWESOME. Gonna make this many more times. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Everything was great. I used red, orange, and yellow peppers instead of green and brought the sauce to a simmer before adding them. You could add them even later if you like a crunch to the peppers. It is a bit salty because of the condensed soups and soy sauce, so I might try adding a bit more sugar to counterbalance it. Overall, mmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shellyanne2
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I added a large onion cut in 8ths with peppers. Pea pods at end. All 3 children enjoyed this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States