Chinese Pepper Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Family loved it, I added onion with the green pepper and used tomato paste (2 ) cans and 2 cans water.(instead of the tomato soup) ...good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This recipe is easily adaptable as a slow cooker meal: I used 2 lbs of blade steak, cut into 1-inch cubes, which I browned first. I used fresh ginger (1 tbsp, minced) instead of ground, sliced up a carrot, and cleaned 6 pearl onions that I had on hand. Toss everything into the slow cooker except for the peppers and rice, and set it on High for 2.5 hrs. Turn the setting down to Low, and add the cut-up peppers to the pot (I used 2 green and 2 yellow for colour). Cook your rice separately, and once that's done, your meal is ready ! The meat was moist and tender, and I got the "thumbs up" from everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
The only thing I'd do differently next time is marinade the meat before hand so it's not so tough. Great Flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avery & Caleb's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
this had a very good flavor nd is very easy to make. My husband and I both felt is was a little too salty though. To be fair thought, instead of beef consomme, I used beef base, so thks may have contributed to that. I alos used only half the soy sauce as well. I served this with rice and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seashellsoul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very yummy. I dredged my steak in flour & a little meat tenderizer & pepper before frying it in the oil. Also made more sauce by adding water to consomme and a little extra soy sauce (to taste). It was a big hit for my picky eaters. The meat became tender the longer I simmered it on the stovetop so be sure to leave time for it to simmer that 20 minutes or more while your rice is cooking. I may wait until a little later to add my peppers next time so they will be a little crispier. Will make this again - would even be a great meal for guests. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Awesome dish! Try it with yellow, red, and green peppers for color and taste. We also added a litle more ginger than recommended. We will surely make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty185

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chalmette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Way too salty as written--will need to adapt if I decide to make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mroop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Family loved it. I used low sodium soup and reduced sodium soy sauce, so did not have the problem of it being too salty. Only used about 1/2 c yellow bell pepper because family does not like it much. I used about 1 1/2 teaspoon of ginger also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Overly salty, in my opinion...but decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
My family enjoyed this recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States