Chinese Pepper Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
just tried this recipe. Used meat tenderizer before browning the steak. Used yellow red and green peppers, flour instead of cornstarch and skipped the ginger. It was AWESOME. Gonna make this many more times. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I used low sodium soy and consomme. I added 1 medium onion, 1 tsp. of Italian Seasoning and 1/2 tsp Red Pepper flakes. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Made for dinner tonight was great used past not tomatoe soup my kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Way too salty as written--will need to adapt if I decide to make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mroop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Wow this was so good. The meat was tender and full of flavor. A repeat recipe that is for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Family loved it. I used low sodium soup and reduced sodium soy sauce, so did not have the problem of it being too salty. Only used about 1/2 c yellow bell pepper because family does not like it much. I used about 1 1/2 teaspoon of ginger also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Overly salty, in my opinion...but decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This recipe is easily adaptable as a slow cooker meal: I used 2 lbs of blade steak, cut into 1-inch cubes, which I browned first. I used fresh ginger (1 tbsp, minced) instead of ground, sliced up a carrot, and cleaned 6 pearl onions that I had on hand. Toss everything into the slow cooker except for the peppers and rice, and set it on High for 2.5 hrs. Turn the setting down to Low, and add the cut-up peppers to the pot (I used 2 green and 2 yellow for colour). Cook your rice separately, and once that's done, your meal is ready ! The meat was moist and tender, and I got the "thumbs up" from everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
My family enjoyed this recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very yummy. I dredged my steak in flour & a little meat tenderizer & pepper before frying it in the oil. Also made more sauce by adding water to consomme and a little extra soy sauce (to taste). It was a big hit for my picky eaters. The meat became tender the longer I simmered it on the stovetop so be sure to leave time for it to simmer that 20 minutes or more while your rice is cooking. I may wait until a little later to add my peppers next time so they will be a little crispier. Will make this again - would even be a great meal for guests. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States