Chinese Pepper Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I tried this because of the great reviews but I found it to be pretty bland. Maybe a little cayenne would help. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Very good. Added water chestnuts and onions. The family loved it and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Made this tonight for myself and my roommates - thumbs up all around. The sauce was a little thick, but I also let it simmer a few extra minutes. I used top round and a couple of sirloins - couldn't tell the difference after the meats had soaked up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zack King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Great recipe. Used tomato sauce rather than tomato soup,doubled the ginger, halved the sugar, substituted snow peas for 2 of the bell peppers. Also added one medium onion. Family liked it as much as take-out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shellyanne2
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I added a large onion cut in 8ths with peppers. Pea pods at end. All 3 children enjoyed this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Followed the recipe almost exactly. Only used 2 peppers, 1 green, 1 red and that was plenty. Also sautéed an onion with the meat. My only complaint is the meat takes way longer to get tender, more like 3.5 hours. If you have the time, this dish would be better done in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I think this recipe is 5 stars as is. Only changes I made was to season the meat before cooking and I added onions with the peppers and cooked a bit before adding the sauce. Flavorful, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Everything was great. I used red, orange, and yellow peppers instead of green and brought the sauce to a simmer before adding them. You could add them even later if you like a crunch to the peppers. It is a bit salty because of the condensed soups and soy sauce, so I might try adding a bit more sugar to counterbalance it. Overall, mmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This is definitely a 5 STAR recipe! Hubby and I loved it! Made a few slight modifications though. I used 2 red bell peppers and 2 green bell peppers, but I think one could get by adding just 3 large peppers (perhaps 1-red, 1-yellow, and 1-green). I also used a low sodium soy sauce, and since I didn't have exactly 2 tablespoons of cornstarch... I used 1 tablespoon of cornstarch and 1 tablespoon of flour (which worked well), I added a bit more ginger (also added an 1/8 tsp.), and instead of adding all garlic salt, I added an 1/8 teaspoon of garlic salt, and an 1/8 teaspoon of garlic powder. I didn't need to sear the meat for 10 minutes, mine was cooked within 6 minutes. I also added a 1/4 teaspoon of dried red pepper flakes, to make this dish a bit more flavorable. I wanted to point out, after I trimmed up my 2 lbs. of round steak, I ended up with about 1 lb. plus 10-12 oz. of meat. I found this made 5 servings rather than 8. Served this one night with instant white rice, and the leftovers another night with instant brown rice. I look forward to making this dish again; as it was exceptionally good!! TUNA'S MOM, thanks for posting this recipe. This recipe is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
A recipe my hubby actually said "you can make this one again". Usually he has suggestions on how he would have changed the recipe. The only changes I made was to use fresh garlic and fresh ginger. I keep those tubes in the fridge since we use a lot of garlic and ginger. I make an Asian inspired meal once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pataskala, Ohio, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States