Chinese New Year Chocolate Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This is a recipe my family has been making since I was a kid. The only difference is we drop by tablespoon on wax paper and refrigerate, AND KEEP REFRIGERATED - it gets melty and not as delicious if you store at room temp (Probably because of the butterscotch chips in them). Eating them cold is an art, though, as the chow mein noodles bite into your cheek and gums! ENJOY!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Made exactly as the recipe stated, and I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Tasty and easy. Its a great recipe to have the kids help with because they can do most of it. I always melt the chips in the microwave, then add the peanuts & chow mein noodles to the bowl, saving extra clean up time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Love, love, love it. I am so insanely sick of baking Christmas cookies. This was a nice break. No measuring. No mixers. No hot ovens. Just dump the bags of chips, melt and mix in the rest of the stuff. I substituted marshmallows for the peanuts. My kids like that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Lehnig-Bouge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
It looks good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
These were good and very easy to make. Nice sweet snack especially if you like something crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: West Friendship, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I have made these for years they are always a big hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandy619

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I make these all the time but I don't put them in a pan. I drop them by teaspoons on waxed paper. So much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These are great. I've been making them since I was a teenager. But there is an EASIER way. Line cookie sheets with waxed paper. Drop the warm mixture by the spoonful onto wax paper and let cool overnight in fridge. I took these to a boyfriend once and when he saw them, he asked "What is that? Chocolate covered Tarantula?". Since then, I've made "Tarantulas" for my family every Christmas. They always ask "Where's the Tarantulas?"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
So much fun especially for children! I agree in that I think the origins of this recipe are American and not Chinese (the "Haystacks" recipe I saw submitted by a European American on the back of an American Food Product last summer) but who cares because the sweet is a cool idea. Fusion? This recipe dates back at least to the 1960's or earlier. I have also seen variations which use Corn Flakes, Pretzels, and even Potato Chips instead of the Chinese Chow Mein Noodles. Remember that there are many varieties of Chow Main Noodles also to try of various widths etc. My husband is Chinese and in general he says the Chinese culture does not like things that are TOO sweet but they do sell Poki Sticks (sp?) that are like thin crisp bread sticks dipped in chocolate. And they do have Chinese Bakeries that sell items similar to rich Europan Style Baked Goods that in general are lighter and less sweet. Thank you Sam Mei for this good idea to Celebrate CNY !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States