Chinese Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
This salad is phenomenal! My mom made it for me the first time. I don't like cabbage, so thought I wouldn't like this. Boy, was I wrong! I could have eaten the whole bowl! I made my mom fix it for me several times while home visiting - and it was also the big hit with any guests who lucked out and were present for dinner with this fabulous salad on the side. It does take a bit of work - but it's worth it! Plan to eat the whole salad in one sitting, as it's not so great the next day when the crunchies have gone stale. If it's too much for one sitting, make the salad and split it into two before adding the top ramen and almonds. Put the extra toppings in an airtight container for the next day. Do the same with half the dressing. Trust me - this is as good as the chinese salads you get in a restaurant! Kudos to the chef who shared this with the rest of us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2000
I took this to a pockluck and even the men raved about it. Thanks for printing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
This was excellent! To make it as an entire meal, I sauteed boneless, skinless chicken breast in a little all purpose seasoning and oil and diced up the chicken adding it to the salad. My husband loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
This was wonderful!! Never have I enjoyed a salad as much as this, my Mum and I nibbled at the leftovers till the bowl was empty. Even my stepDad liked it and he doesn't like "new" foods!! My daughter, who doesn't like cabbage liked it too. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I love the tangy dressing. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
This was wonderful! I even liked the dressing and I usually prefer to make my own. Throw in some sliced chicken breasts and as another rater suggested, you have a main dish for those hot summer days. No almonds? Use dry roasted peanuts. You could even add some shreaded carrots for color. This is a very versatile, easy,fast & delicious recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
Thank you, I have been looking for this salad ever since I tasted it at a potluck. We loved it!Mignonne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Actually, this is a recipe I've had in my arsenal for several years now. I was fresh out of college and went to a fellow alumus' grad party and his mom served this refreshing salad. I demanded the recipe before I left and good thing, too, I haven't seen the alum since the party-- thanks, Mrs. Levine! After browsing the allrecipe.com site and finding it here, I just needed to chime in with praise. MAKE IT -- it's a crowd pleaser EVERY time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Really, this recipe is almost like "asian salad" also found on this site (just a little less sugar and less ramen noodles). Still, VERY GOOD! I like to use a package and a half of the pre-shredded coleslaw mix, it gives you the same results but less time is spent on chopping. In addition, to make this one "different " from the other recipe, I used cashews in place of blanched almonds...I just tossed them in when I mixed in the sauce. I'm keeping this one just in case I ever lose my copy of the receipe for Asian Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
Everyone in the family loved this! Even the picky ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States