Chinese Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Very good and easy! But be careful not to make this far in advance. One time I did it about an hour ahead for a BBQ (not thinking)- it was very soggy, cabbage and all. My mistake though, great recipe if done right! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
My entire family loves this recipe. It's super easy to make and travels really well, so we've taken to holiday parties, business events, and just served it for dinner with family and friends. It is always very well received, and even my crotchety grandpa who doesn't trust that foreign food enjoys it. If you can't find white sesame seeds, black works just as well, though I tend to cut the amount they ask for so it's not overpowering. This salad has a delicious and surprising flavor to add to any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Boy, I guess we're one of the few who didn't care for this. Made as directed - only change was to cut to 2 servings...maybe it through the dressing off. So sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This recipe is very good as is, but there are a few changes I would make to consider it a 5-star recipe. First of all for the dressing I would only use half the vegetable oil called for, I would also double the sugar, double the sesame oil and add a pinch more soy sauce. Next time I will add a lot more ramen noodles and sesame seeds as well- about 1/3 more of each. Not quite enough crunch as is. But overall a very good recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Shimberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This was excellent but to make it healthier I used Sun Crystals instead of the sugar and instead of the ramen noodles I added toasted Flax Seeds......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Very good. I added mandarin oranges and chicken and then it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastebud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Made recipe as is and absolutely loved it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I had a huge head of napa cabbage and wanted to try something different-- this was delicious! I note that some have recommended using about half the seasoning packet from the ramen noodles. I used all of the packet from an organic "Asian vegetable" ramen which seems to have considerably less sodium than the regular store brands, and the salt level seemed just right. To turn it into a vegetarian main course salad I also sauteed a box of Quorn "naked" cutlets in the same skillet in which I'd cooked the noodles, almonds and sesame seeds and then diced them before adding it all to the salad. I also LOVE sesame seeds and toasted sesame oil, and thought the large quantity of sesame seeds gave it a great taste and texture. I'm embarrassed to admit that my husband and I pretty much devoured the whole thing. We'd washed and chopped the napa cabbage when we brought it home a couple of days before using it, making this salad incredibly quick and easy to put together. I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I'm thinking it might only needed a half package of the ramen noodle soup to season the noodle. Also make sure to add sesame at the end of browning. It burnt very easily. But overall, the salad was delicious. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Yuba Noodle Salad

See how to make a yuba noodle and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States