Chinese Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Excellent salad, but we thought the sesame seeds were a little too heavy. I'd cut it back to 1/4 cup. Otherwise it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
MADE THIS FOR A PATIO GET TOGETHER. NONE LEFT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
My husband &hi just love this salad on a nice summer day. Just wish my kids felt the same. Haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Made this exactly as written (increased to make 5 times the servings) for a party. I did add a little finely chopped carrot and green pepper, added only for a little extra color. I also added just a little bit of Chinese hot mustard to the dressing(whisked in with some of the vinegar first, to blend the mustard). I was so pleased with the flavor!!! We like to mix it a little ahead of time, so that the noodles actually soak up some of the dressing and take-on more of a noodle texture, instead of a crunchy texture and the cabbage softens more and wilts. Really, I like it both ways - crunchy and soft! Added the rest of the dressing close to serving time. Thanks for sharing - this one's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Easy! I made some of the dressing and simmered chicken all day in it via crock pot. Then shredded it in the salad. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
My husband liked this one more than I did. I loved the noodle/almond mix and cabbage, but the dressing only tasted good when we used the least possible amount. I think it's the sesame oil--it smells like burnt coffee. I added more sugar in the dressing to compensate. I'm not sure if that's supposed to be that way or we just got a bad bottle--this is my first time cooking with it, so I'm not sure what sesame oil's supposed to taste like. I would try again, but with half as much of the oil, or with different oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
As other reviewers suggested, I stored the cabbage, dressing and noodles separately and mixed at serving time. For a healthier dish DO NOT use the ramen seasoning packet. I sprinkled a bit of Herb ox sodium free chicken bouillon granules on mine, but the noodles can go without any seasoning. I cut back on oil a bit and I didn't have sesame seeds and it was fine without. Great salad. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Very good salad! Stored the shredded napa cabbage, ramen blend and dressing separately. The cabbage keeps for a few days and you can quickly toss it with the dressing just prior to serving. Then, top with ramen blend and you have a quick, crisp salad. Modifications made: Bean sprouts were added and the ramen mixture was fried in 1 Tblsp canola oil instead of butter and it still was wonderfully crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammie414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I made this with a few additions- a diced red pepper and a pound of chopped chicken tenderloins sauteed in sesame oil with a splash of Asian salad dressing. Salt and pepper the cabbage before mixing in the other ingredients to improve tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Oller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Out of all the Chinese Cabbage Recipes on here, this is by far the best. I think it is because it calls for soy sauce (which I always end up adding anyway) and rice vinegar! Make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States