Chinese Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Always a hit at summer barbecues--I have probably made this thing 50 times now! I am always one to tinker with recipes so here are a couple of suggestions but by all means the base recipe is great. For the salad part I like to add a few other ingredients for color and contrast so I shred up a couple carrots and thinly slice a red pepper to add to the cabbage. Personally I like cilantro so I usually chop some of that up and add in in as well--it gives it a fresh taste but some folks don't like it so it just depends. The dressing is phenomenal with that sweet, salty and acidic contrast. I jazz it up a bit with a tablespoon or two of the chili-garlic paste and minced fresh ginger. I also usually double the sesame oil because I like that taste. Just a few suggestions--but again great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Great recipe. Made a couple of changes - Dry toast the sesame and almonds in a pan (not the ramen noodles) and I don't add the seasoning packet from the ramen. Just omit it and it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Love the recipe, but I don't care for all the calorie in the Ramen noodles. I generally us Saifun bean threads and boil and chop them before adding them, but they can be fried as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
We have had this salad many times before but when we used this recipe, we had a hard time staying away from it. The difference was the sautéing of the noodles, almonds, etc, that we had never done before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I added cooked chicken to make it a meal. I love Chinese chicken salad, and I like this version (albeit similar to others I've made) a lot. I added pumpkin seeds (shelled) because I didn't have slivered almonds, and flax seeds because I didn't have sesame seeds. I'll use less seeds (whether sesame or flax) in the future. I'll also use a bit less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This is excellent! I used a bag of precut cole slaw and it was delicious. Everyone in my family raved about it and can't wait to have it again. Will definitely make again!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Amazing! I could not stop eating this. I used only about 1/2 of a packet of the seasoning mix to reduce the sodium, and it was still delicious. I recommend it highly. I brought it to a party and had to come home and make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I make this all the time but add carrots and broccoli. I usually make it for lunches for the entire week by having 2 zip locks, and a bottle for the dressing. Put all "crunchy" items in a bad, ramen, almonds, sesame seeds. Then put all veggies in a separate bag that way nothing looses it's crunch. Bring the dressing along and toss before eating! If I add chicken I can easily get a weeks worth of healthy salads out of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
+This is a great salad and always very popular at potlucks. I do not use the ramen seasoning packet (bunch of chemicals!) and I add a little lemon juice to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
excellent, The kids love it. I add kale to the napa cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States