Chinese Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by { s.a.r.a.h }
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I love this recipe! It is GREAT followed exactly as is, but I also think the cabbage and toasted ramen/almond/sesame mixture would be a great base for any Asian-style dressing, especially a peanut or a wasabi one. I'm going to make this again, both with the variations and with the classical dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by In My LIfe
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This was mediocre. The sesame oil flavor seemed to dominate the whole dish, which was not very appetizing. I used a bag of cole slaw mix instead of the cabbage as another reviewer suggested and added sunflower seeds instead of the almonds. I would cut way back on the sesame oil (maybe only add a tsp. or so) and add chopped pears to this if I made it again. I think the fruit would compliment the strong flavor of the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In My LIfe

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I guess it's just us but my husband and I did not care for this salad at all. It was very easy to make which was great but there was way too many sesame seeds in it which in my opinion, overpowered the rest of the salad. If I were to try making it again, I would definitely cut down on the sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I loved this salad. I served it as a side dish for Teriyaki Steak. I see that lots of folks don't care for it the next day. I on the other hand liked it very much the next day. It wilted and took on the texture of Kim Chi so I added some Korean peppers to it. I thought it was very good. This recipe is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sillyhp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Nice. I halved the recipe, skipped the seasoning packet, and added a little fresh grated ginger to the dressing to add more asian flavor. I took some for lunch the next day and added in a few pieces of roasted chicken. The noodles still had a little crunch left in them and had that bottom of the bowl goodness! I will definitely make this again. Update: Try serving the toasted ramen and nut mixture on the side and store the leftovers is a small covered container. This way, if there are left overs, the ramen mixture will still be crispy and ready to use the next day. Just make sure the ramen mix is completely cool before storing in the covered container. The only downside to this is, the ramen mix tastes pretty good by itself and makes for good snacking so it might get eaten if left unattended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I love the idea of toasting the noodles! It made it all the more better! I used sunflower seeds since I was out of the others, but I'm looking forward to trying it with the almonds and seasme seeds. I didn't use nearly as much seasame oil as the recipe called for--that would be way too much in my opinion since it's such a flavorful oil. I used about two drops--which was plenty. Otherwise, I thought the dressing was perfect. Also, I used a small head of cabbage--and that was just right. A large head would have been too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
absolutely the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Bruinius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
The basic formula of this recipe was good, but I spruced it up quite a bit from the original (which is why I only gave it 3 stars). I absolutely loved the concept of flavors that this recipe involved, but it seemed like it was missing a few thing. Namely, meat and spices. There is no way that anyone in my household is eating a meat-free dinner, so I browned some ground chicken in advance, then toasted the ramen noodles, sesame seeds & almonds and added the ground chicken to the mixture. I cooked the ground chicken with a little soy sauce, garlic powder, 5-spice powder, and chili oil. I used the pre-made coleslaw mixture, and added about a cup of the mixture in with the chicken/almond/sesame seed/ramen and cooked for approximately 5 minutes to soften slightly. As far as the dressing, the recipe definitely doesn't call for enough (as nearly everyone else had mentioned), so I doubled the recipe, and also added garlic powder, ginger, and a touch of chili oil. I served the mixture on a bed of baby spinach mixed with the remaining raw coleslaw mix. Everyone loved this dinner!! I especially loved the crunch that came from the almonds and ramen noodles. Great basic recipe--I'm eating the leftovers now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
this recipe is a delicous surprise. I tryed it at a comapny picnic this weekend. I was referred to the website/recipe. I thought it was coleslaw and to my surprise it was this recipe - awesome awesome awesome. This will be what I make for the next get togther I go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
my family has been making this for years didnt know it had a name the only thing we do differant is leave out the noddles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States