Chinese Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Sesame oil was overwhelming. Coleslaw is my newest thing so I am open!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This was SOOOO good. The leftovers are even better. It's still crunchy and I think the taste is better the next day. Three things I did differently: Added a bad of broccoli slaw, cooked the dressing and then let it cool (this dissolved the sugar) and we also added bacon crumbles to it. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Baisch-Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
MADE SOME CHANGES- I used this recipe since it was so similar to one I have at home in Calif. In that recipe, I don't use the ramen seasoning packet, and instead of vegetable oil, it called for peanut oil. Also, other good additions are shredded carrot and chopped cilantro. The sesame seed, almonds, and ramen noodles can be toasted on a sheet in a toaster oven rather than using butter on the stove. Four stars for using that Ramen packet. too much salt and chemicals to suit me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
The ingredients sound totally strange on this, but it is actually pretty good. I tried it at a 4th of July bbq. It mostly looks like a mix of cabbage and ramen noodles, but the flavors transform themselves and it looks healthy. The ramen does stay crunchy in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I also used cashews instead of almonds--but either would work, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice McVeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orpington, Greater London, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Excellent Recipe! If you store your veggies, toppings, and dressing in separate containers and mix together just before eating the meal will keep for several days. I added shredded carrots, red pepper, and chicken to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Always a hit at summer barbecues--I have probably made this thing 50 times now! I am always one to tinker with recipes so here are a couple of suggestions but by all means the base recipe is great. For the salad part I like to add a few other ingredients for color and contrast so I shred up a couple carrots and thinly slice a red pepper to add to the cabbage. Personally I like cilantro so I usually chop some of that up and add in in as well--it gives it a fresh taste but some folks don't like it so it just depends. The dressing is phenomenal with that sweet, salty and acidic contrast. I jazz it up a bit with a tablespoon or two of the chili-garlic paste and minced fresh ginger. I also usually double the sesame oil because I like that taste. Just a few suggestions--but again great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Great recipe. Made a couple of changes - Dry toast the sesame and almonds in a pan (not the ramen noodles) and I don't add the seasoning packet from the ramen. Just omit it and it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Love the recipe, but I don't care for all the calorie in the Ramen noodles. I generally us Saifun bean threads and boil and chop them before adding them, but they can be fried as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States