Chinese Mabo Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lani Goldstein
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This was my second ever attempt at cooking tofu, as I'm just starting to eat it, and this dish will help ease carnivores into tofu eaters! I couldn't find the bean paste at any local grocers and didn't deal like trekking to the nearest Asian market, so I used another reviewers suggestion and substituted it with the garlic chili paste. I was not disappointed! This dish is delicious! I will definitely make it again and even my "I will never eat tofu - that stuff is disgusting" spouting boyfriend said he liked it. Not enough to eat a bowl, but at least he didn't spit it out! Lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani Goldstein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I tried this recipe twice with a couple of variations/healthier alternatives so-to-speak. 1st time I substituted ground turkey instead of pork. 2nd time I substituted shiitake, oyster, porcini, & baby bella mushrooms instead of pork. I must say the latter was hearty, earthy, & AMAZING!!! I used extra-firm tofu instead of firm. I used coconut sugar both times instead of white sugar. I used Bragg's Liquid Aminos instead of Soy Sauce. I also used Arrowroot instead of cornstarch. If you like more sauce, you can you more Arrowroot without getting that "starchy" taste you'd get from too much cornstarch ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Awesome recipe!! I was just looking to use up the tofu I had purchased and instead I now have a great recipe to serve to my friends and family. I used miso paste instead of the hot bean paste and I added a little mushroom and cilantro to dress it up a little. It was amazing, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Very good and easy. Made this vegetarain only. The soy sauce masked all the other delicious ingredients. It was salty, so I added rice vinegar to it and since I only had non-spicy black bean sauce, I also added chili garlic sauce. I omitted the sesame oil because we don't like them in certain dishes and its very overwelming, but thats just us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was great! The only substitution I did was replace the hot bean sauce with Huy Fong's Chili Garlic sauce. Extremely easy and extremely delicious, didn't taste extremely heavy or greasy. Excellent over white rice, with broccoli on the side (might also be good to put broccoli or Chinese long beans in with all other ingredients).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STONESOUP
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
My daughters are vegetarian, so I left out the meat, and I was winging it at suppertime (late!), so I didn't have everything. In my version I used olive oil, no meat.. didn't know what hot bean sauce so I put in some white miso (1 tbsp) instead. My daughter--who doesn't like sesame seeds, and I did use the roasted sesame oil--thinks this dish is keeper. So do I :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONESOUP

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This is a very delicious recipe. It tastes like the restaurant style! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifertse10

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
i love this recipe! i used to make mabo tofu from a mix, but lately i'm trying to make things from scratch to avoid the chemicals that come in processed foods. this was easy to make & you know exactly what goes in it! i put in eggplant & green peppers & that really added to the dish. i used leftover ham instead of ground pork & it turned out great. also used red chili sauce instead of the hot bean sauce. basically, anything spicy should work. thanks for sharing a great recipe. definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This recipe is delicious. I didn't have any hot bean sauce so I substituted a mixture of miso paste and chili garlic sauce. I also substituted onion chives for the green onion. I bet the original recipe is even better, but my modified version was still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States