Chinese Lion's Head Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This soup was amazing! My family just loved it. I made a couple changes, but think they made it better. I browned the meatballs before putting them in the broth. I simmered it longer than reccomended. Also I added more broth and didnt use any water.I also cut up raw won ton wrappers and threw them in. It tasted like won ton soup. I will be making this alot these upcoming fall and winter months!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelliraespaulding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I just made some soup inspired by this recipe and a pork dumpling recipe. It's very good as a base, although just by looking at the proportions compared to what I just made it will be meat and cabbage heavy - as another reviewer mentioned you might want to add more broth/water to taste as you're going. I only had 1/2 a napa cabbage and 1/2 lb of pork. Mine could have used more broth as well (and that's with about 3 cups, for this I'd say total 6 cups broth/water). All in all very similar to this. Of all my changes I'd recommend adding the garlic powder and chinese five spice, browning the meatballs, and adding some vinegar to the broth. For the meatballs I used 1/2 beaten egg, then whisked in 1 tbsp corn starch, 1 tbsp soy sauce, 2 tsp sherry wine, 1 tsp grated fresh ginger, 1/2 tsp sesame oil, 1 tsp garlic powder, and 1 tsp chinese five spice. I mixed 1/2 lb pork, 1/4 cup bread crumbs, 1 minced green onion in by hand. That made about 22 meatballs, I ended up only using 15 or so and froze the rest. To get a nice brown color, I placed them on lightly greased baking pan and left them be in the oven for 15 minutes at 400F. My soup base was almost identical; I sauteed onion in one to one ratio with the cabbage (1/2 onion with 1/2 head of cabbage), then added a few sliced shittake mushrooms and sauteed until the liquid had simmered off. I added another tsp of ginger to the broth, as well as 1/2 tbsp rice vinegar, 1 tbsp brown sugar, and a dash of allspice. Quite excellent! A das
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Wonderful! I just switched the pork for ground turkey, my little ones had second! Thank you for sharing that great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnneClaude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by roweena
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I grew up in an Asian household and we sure do love our soup! This was great once I made a few adjustments. We really like a lot of broth (as we have it with noodles), so I increased the liquid to 5 cups chicken stock and 3 cups of water. Even with that much liquid there was MORE then enough meat! I mixed in 2 green onions into the meat mixture and a dash of black pepper. I skipped sauting the cabbage and added it into the simmering soup the last few minutes of cooking, we don't like it mushy. As for the soup itself, if you add the meatballs in before it comes to a simmer, they will not fall apart. The last couple minutes of simmering I added in 3 thinly sliced green onions, a large handful of sliced cilantro, and a bit more soy sauce to taste. and DON'T SKIP THE SESAME OIL, this is key to the flavor. The meat filling and broth would also be good for wonton soup! Try adding in some sliced carrots or broccoli towards the end with the cabbage, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roweena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I just made this soup today and it wasnt quite what I expected.....I found that there wasn't alot of flavor in the broth howecer the meat contained more so. I also found that my meat balls didnt want to stay together that well making the appearance not so appealing. My suggestions if I made again I would add more stock, and probably use bread crumbs or oats to make a heartier filler for the meat balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kanata, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was pretty good. I might next time add some carrots or another veggie with the cabbage. Overall not bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I make this often in the winter..but I do something just a little different..I bake it..I layer some cabbage leaves in the bottom of my ceramic cook pot, then put in the raw meat balls and then I pour over the liquid that I have heated to just boiling. Then I layer the rest of the cabbage with some fresh ginger and garlic slices. I simmer it for about 2-3 hours in a covered pot on 300'...Or you can make it in the morning and put it in the slow cooker all day..Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuZySHooZ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
My husband loved this, but I didn't care for it. I thought it was a little bland. Chili-garlic paste helped...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I make ALOT of soups and chowders during the winter, and this is one of my favorites! I leave out the msg and it's still just as yummy. I have also used the pork to fill wonton wrappers and dropped them into the hot soup, which is delicious! I look forward to making this in the fall...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Summer veggie co-op brings me an assortment of vegetables each week and finding recipes to use them all can be a challange. I looked up Chinese cabbage and found this. I loved it, Next time I will add some minced garlic and chili spice to the meatballs, but it was a nice change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States