Chinese Lion's Head Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I really enjoyed this soup, it's simple, fast (I didn't saute the cabbage as one reviewer suggested) and very delish! I plan to try it with turkey ground rather than pork next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Rodebacks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Love this soup!!! I have made it twice now, my hubby isn't into soups all that much but he has countless helpings of this soup! and my kids love it to so bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Love the simple ingredients; so satisfying & filling. I substituted ground turkey for pork which worked out perfectly. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly except I did add a couple cloves of minced garlic when I sauteed the cabbage. Will definitely make again and again ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
really really good! for those who aren't used to sesame oil, drizzle on sparingly after pouring in the bowl to serve. Taste, and then add as desired. my husband liked the taste but thought it was a little strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is good. Its the same ingredients that my father used except he would make the pork droppings really large. We're not of chinese descent but my father loved to cook chinese food. Everytime I make this it reminds me of Dad since he passed away in 1992
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I love the flavor of this soup. I used the ingredients as stated. I combined some of the tips...like sauteing the chunkier pieces of cabbage. I made this on the stove top. I love the flavor of the broth and the flavor of the meatballs. What I didn't really like was the texture of the meatballw. They were not tender and they weren't over cooked. I might try making them smaller like I would for albondigas soup. I may in fact add a little cornmeal and a little milk and use just the egg yolk to bind them next time. And I will definitely make again. Great recipe just need to tweak those meatballs and I agree w/ other comments there is more than enough meat. You could reduce it by a 1/3 to 1/2 and it would still be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maine Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I adore this recipe. My friend made it for me once and I LOVED it so I had to make it myself. This is fantastic! The meatballs are pretty gingery, but I love that. This is a regular recipe for me now, and I love it best with some rice that I just throw into my bowl with it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wakipan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This is delicious and unique. I find myself craving it every so often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This brings back childhood memories! For the meatballs, an easier way to make them is using a rounded "tablespoon" to make the shape easily as I dumped it one by one into the all chicken broth i a pot that had browned minced garlic. At the end of cooking everything, I added Lee Kum Kee brand of oyster sauce as needed at the end of cooking to add another dimension to the broth. The reason I cooked the meat in the broth first prior to boiling is to allow the meat to have more total time cooking in the broth (total 15 mins). After the meat has been in the simmering broth I added the stem parts of the napa cabbage into the broth/meat since they take longer to cook compared to the leaves, cooked this for 5 mins. Then I added the napa cabbage leaves cooked this for 5 mins. This way parts of the cabbage wasn't overcooked in the one pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
An absolutely FABULOUS recipe esp. for hesitant soup makers! You can't go wrong with this one. Definitely hits the spot on a cold winters day! I substituted ground turkey and added more onions to the meatballs. I also added (as one reviewer did) a handful of cilantro at the end and more broth and that made it amazing. This is a keeper. I would give it a 5 but I almost think the meatballs need a little more umph!...maybe garlic or cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kacobu
Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States