Chinese Lion's Head Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Yummy. A little too much ginger though. I used beef broth and put in about 10-12 cups water/broth liquid though because there was so much meat. I also added some asian noodles and used ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Not too bad but a little heavy on the sesame oil. I will play with it a bit next time but there will be a next time so that is a plus for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
The base of soup is very simple.. I added more broth.. I did not care for the meatballs.. I love ginger but it was out of balance for me, way too much.. Will make again with adjustments to meatballs.. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I really enjoyed this soup, it's simple, fast (I didn't saute the cabbage as one reviewer suggested) and very delish! I plan to try it with turkey ground rather than pork next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Rodebacks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Love this soup!!! I have made it twice now, my hubby isn't into soups all that much but he has countless helpings of this soup! and my kids love it to so bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Love the simple ingredients; so satisfying & filling. I substituted ground turkey for pork which worked out perfectly. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly except I did add a couple cloves of minced garlic when I sauteed the cabbage. Will definitely make again and again ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
really really good! for those who aren't used to sesame oil, drizzle on sparingly after pouring in the bowl to serve. Taste, and then add as desired. my husband liked the taste but thought it was a little strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is good. Its the same ingredients that my father used except he would make the pork droppings really large. We're not of chinese descent but my father loved to cook chinese food. Everytime I make this it reminds me of Dad since he passed away in 1992
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I love the flavor of this soup. I used the ingredients as stated. I combined some of the tips...like sauteing the chunkier pieces of cabbage. I made this on the stove top. I love the flavor of the broth and the flavor of the meatballs. What I didn't really like was the texture of the meatballw. They were not tender and they weren't over cooked. I might try making them smaller like I would for albondigas soup. I may in fact add a little cornmeal and a little milk and use just the egg yolk to bind them next time. And I will definitely make again. Great recipe just need to tweak those meatballs and I agree w/ other comments there is more than enough meat. You could reduce it by a 1/3 to 1/2 and it would still be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maine Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I adore this recipe. My friend made it for me once and I LOVED it so I had to make it myself. This is fantastic! The meatballs are pretty gingery, but I love that. This is a regular recipe for me now, and I love it best with some rice that I just throw into my bowl with it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wakipan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States