Chinese Lion's Head Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I have been wanting to try this for a while and I'm so glad that I finally did! It is delicious. I accidentally put the sesame oil in the meat mixture. I went ahead and added some to the broth at the end too. It was perfect so I will do that again next time. After putting it all together, there did not seem to be enough broth. I added 4 more cups and that seemed to be more to our liking. The fresh ginger is a prominent taste and I love that about this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I used turkey and added some garlic for the meatballs! Great loved it!! I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tambo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Didn't have napa cabbage so used regular head of cabbage. Simple recipe with wonderful flavor. Would definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I thought this was good, but the guys thought this was GREAT! I used more broth/water than called for (about double), b/c I wanted to add rice noodles (I used an 8oz. pkg.). This was super simple to make and I thought the meatballs had good flavor, not too overpowering at all. The broth is a bit bland, but is easily fixed w/ salt, which brought out the flavors more. I'm assuming this is supposed to be a lightly flavored soup, but I'm sure can be easily adjusted to suit you tastes. All in all, this turned out fine, and will be a repeat! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Loved it! My daughter said this tasted like one from our favorite noodle restaurants. We used a little bit of cabbage but to compromise, we added 8oz of rice noodles. Since we were using noodles, we had to add more broth (around 8 cup total). I used a mixture of wonton soup base and regular chicken broth due to availability. Also, I'm not a fan of sesame oil, so I adjusted by using 3/4 teaspoon in the meat mixture and I think 1/2 teaspoon into the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
So easy and so good! We eat it with jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Made it tonight! It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andread
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
AWESOME!! I made this today SOOO good! I made the meatballs exactly as written. I increased broth to about 8 cups added 1tsp oyster sauce, napa cabbage, carrots, celery, green onion and mei fun noodles. I LOVE the flavors of chinese. food and this had an amazing combo of those flavors. The flavors of ginger and sesame permeated the broth from the meatballs. Heavenly! I NEVER thought I could make something that tasted like it came from a fine chinese restaurant, but today I did! THANKS FOR SHARING!!!!!!!!!!! (=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
YUMMY! Because I wanted to cut out fat I used ground turkey breast instead of the pork even though I know it is a different flavor. I also used 6 cups chicken broth and no water. I also thought a whole head of cabbage would be alot but not so. I did not use MSG. Next time I'm thinking of adding a little extra ginger and doubling the green onions. I did serve with rice. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was delicious. I had some extra produce to use up so I added it. I julienned some pea pods and baby carrots and added them to the cabbage. I also added some chopped cilantro to the meatballs. Garnished it with thinly sliced radish and more cilantro. Don't forget the sriracha if you like it spicy! Not sure if my additions took away from the recipe's authenticity, but it was still really good and a quick fix meal. A nice soup to clean out the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States