Chinese Lion's Head Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Made it tonight! It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andread
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
AWESOME!! I made this today SOOO good! I made the meatballs exactly as written. I increased broth to about 8 cups added 1tsp oyster sauce, napa cabbage, carrots, celery, green onion and mei fun noodles. I LOVE the flavors of chinese. food and this had an amazing combo of those flavors. The flavors of ginger and sesame permeated the broth from the meatballs. Heavenly! I NEVER thought I could make something that tasted like it came from a fine chinese restaurant, but today I did! THANKS FOR SHARING!!!!!!!!!!! (=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
YUMMY! Because I wanted to cut out fat I used ground turkey breast instead of the pork even though I know it is a different flavor. I also used 6 cups chicken broth and no water. I also thought a whole head of cabbage would be alot but not so. I did not use MSG. Next time I'm thinking of adding a little extra ginger and doubling the green onions. I did serve with rice. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was delicious. I had some extra produce to use up so I added it. I julienned some pea pods and baby carrots and added them to the cabbage. I also added some chopped cilantro to the meatballs. Garnished it with thinly sliced radish and more cilantro. Don't forget the sriracha if you like it spicy! Not sure if my additions took away from the recipe's authenticity, but it was still really good and a quick fix meal. A nice soup to clean out the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Easy to make, but a bit bland. Pepper helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I really liked this recipe. It was really yummy, liked the hearty turkey meat balls that make the soup very filling. It has great flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
My family really enjoys this. I've made it several times. I use all broth, no water, and usually add some sliced carrots to up the vegetable intake (always a challenge with the kids).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was excellent! definite rainy day food which we have lot of in Washington. I added chicken to the mix before I put in the meatballs and added the whole thing of chicken broth instead of water I like my soups a little richer in taste it came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
We all love it. The flavor was a bit on the mild side. The dish can be made with beef, hence the heavier flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Mama

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Yummy. A little too much ginger though. I used beef broth and put in about 10-12 cups water/broth liquid though because there was so much meat. I also added some asian noodles and used ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States