Chinese Lion's Head Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is a good soup for summer - light, but filling. I subbed 1t ground ginger for fresh & used homemade chicken broth. Oh, no napa cabbage at the store so subbed a 10oz pkg frozen chopped spinach. 'Probably would've been prettier if I'd cooked the spinach separately so the broth wouldn't be green; but, hey, it's broth with chopped spinach in it. Maybe it'd be green anyway. :D I only put 1t sesame oil at the end. The 2t would've been fine, too. 'Just being careful. :) 'Think the meatballs could use more ginger, if using ground.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I loved your light and flavorful soup. Thank You so much for your recipe. I would like to say I did not veer from the original recipe, but, I did not have any green onions, only leeks, so that is what I used. I will have green onions the next time I make it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Great recipe. I used ground turkey and bok choy. Add 1.5 teaspoons of Chinese Five-spice in the last 3 minutes of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by T-Rex
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Will definitely make again. I added green ramen noodles. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
The taste was wonderful and homey, but the proportions for the broth to other ingredients must be off. I would cut the amount of cabbage to half a head as long as the head of cabbage is small. That will make this a soup rather than a dish of meatballs in boiled cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I have been wanting to try this for a while and I'm so glad that I finally did! It is delicious. I accidentally put the sesame oil in the meat mixture. I went ahead and added some to the broth at the end too. It was perfect so I will do that again next time. After putting it all together, there did not seem to be enough broth. I added 4 more cups and that seemed to be more to our liking. The fresh ginger is a prominent taste and I love that about this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I used turkey and added some garlic for the meatballs! Great loved it!! I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tambo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Didn't have napa cabbage so used regular head of cabbage. Simple recipe with wonderful flavor. Would definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I thought this was good, but the guys thought this was GREAT! I used more broth/water than called for (about double), b/c I wanted to add rice noodles (I used an 8oz. pkg.). This was super simple to make and I thought the meatballs had good flavor, not too overpowering at all. The broth is a bit bland, but is easily fixed w/ salt, which brought out the flavors more. I'm assuming this is supposed to be a lightly flavored soup, but I'm sure can be easily adjusted to suit you tastes. All in all, this turned out fine, and will be a repeat! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Loved it! My daughter said this tasted like one from our favorite noodle restaurants. We used a little bit of cabbage but to compromise, we added 8oz of rice noodles. Since we were using noodles, we had to add more broth (around 8 cup total). I used a mixture of wonton soup base and regular chicken broth due to availability. Also, I'm not a fan of sesame oil, so I adjusted by using 3/4 teaspoon in the meat mixture and I think 1/2 teaspoon into the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States