Chinese Green Bean Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
An excellent recipe! I used to calculator and cut it down to 4 servings. I did blanch the beans (4 minutes in boiling water then plunge them into ice water to stop the cooking) so they were cooked yet still crunchy. This way, I just had to warm them up once they got into the wok and I didn't have to worry about actually cooking them and scorching the garlic and ginger in the meantime.If you do blanch them first, make sure you roll them around in a towel and get them as dry as possible - otherwise they will spatter and spit once you add them to the wok with the hot oil. I didn't have the black bean sauce so I added probably close to 1/4 c of soy sauce instead. I did add salt as well. It was kind of strange tasting them while cooking. To me, they didn't have much taste but once they got to the table, they were bursting with flavor! The famly gobbled them up and declared them delicious! That is good enough for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
This recipe is terrific! I was having a craving for stir fry beans and this tastes very authentic to me. I scaled it to two servings since I only had 3/4 lbs of fresh green beans. It was so flavorful I sat and ate almost the whole bowl myself! Thanks for sharing this recipe Jackie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
Thank you so much for posting this recipe!! Every time I go to a buffet I eat a plate of these and now I can have them at home! I made them last night (only for 6 servings) and they were terrific!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I have always love this dish when eating out at Chinese restaurants. It was really great to discover this recipe so that I could make it at home whenever I want. Sometimes I add cooked chicken breast or shrimp to this dish if I am craving some protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
very good. was a hit with the hubby who is a big asain food fan. pretty easy to make as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This is an easy quick dish I serve with Chicken Teriyaki and rice. Not exactly the same as in a restaurant, but close enough. My kids are picky, buy this is one of the few vegetable dishes they enjoy. Definitely omit the salt and adjust seasoning to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
My co-worker thought today was a special event. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Very tasty! I scaled back to 4 servings :-) and used peanut oil. As I was heating the oil I tossed in about a 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes to give it some more spice and I ended up omitting the black bean sauce because they looked so good as is I just plain forgot to add it. Would be good with some toasted sesame seeds sprinkled on near the end, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This is really easy to make and my husband loves it! I suggest steaming the green beans a bit before sauteing them in oil since they can still be a bit too al dente for my taste. Otherwise this is an impressive, yet simple dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This was superb.. even cold the beans were tasty. I served this with Szechaun Shrimp from this site and really enjoyed my dinner. Next time I think I might try this with a mix of black bean and hoisin sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States