Chinese Green Bean Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This is really easy to make and my husband loves it! I suggest steaming the green beans a bit before sauteing them in oil since they can still be a bit too al dente for my taste. Otherwise this is an impressive, yet simple dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This was OK. The kids didn't like it. Hubby and I ate it, but agreed it wasn't something we wanted again. The sauce was very clumpy which made some bites fairly pungent. The beans were too crunchy, even though I cooked them longer than called for. I'm glad I tried it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Very tasty! I scaled back to 4 servings :-) and used peanut oil. As I was heating the oil I tossed in about a 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes to give it some more spice and I ended up omitting the black bean sauce because they looked so good as is I just plain forgot to add it. Would be good with some toasted sesame seeds sprinkled on near the end, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This recipe made a full meal when I added shrimp, snow peas, and shiitake mushrooms. I divided all the ingredients by 4, it made 4 servings for my boyfriend and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
My co-worker thought today was a special event. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I've made this twice as a side dish, scaling the recipe WAY back. I seem to have a problem with the ginger and garlic scorching before the black bean sauce is added, and then the black bean sauce doing the same. I'm not sure what the remedy is. The second time I tried tossing a bit of water in with the sauce, and it may have helped a little. Nevertheless, the recipe does taste great. I LOVE chinese-style green beans. I am still hoping to find a way to keep everything but the beans from scorching on me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
At my Asian buffet restaurant, I always get two servings of these - so I'm glad to get a recipe that's close. I am out of black bean sauce, so I used about a T. of soy sauce and cut the salt a bit. Used a lid for a bit to soften the beans and added toasted sesame seeds at the end. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
After 30 minutes cooking, the beans were still crunchy! I can't even imagine how long it would take to make 40 servings! Could make this again but would definitely blanch or steam the beans prior to stir-frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
(As stated, this recipe makes 40 servings.) I usually omit the garlic because there is already plenty in the garlic & black bean sauce I use. This is a very quick, easy and tasty dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
13 lbs of green beans? Isn't that a bit much? Who can eat that many green beans?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States