Chinese Fried Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Yum! Very easy, if you don't do the stupid things I did! 1. READ the instructions all the way through. My first inclination was to drain them on paper towels. My first (albeit very very small) batch has tiny paper towel pieces stuck to them. 2. Don't use a SMALL saucepan. That's a good way to start your kitchen on fire (I really really didn't burn anything down, I promise). Other than that, easy recipe, delicious snack!! Thanks! *** UPDATE - I made these on Sunday and they were fabulous. On Tuesday, I had a few of the leftovers. Not so fabulous! Be sure to make small batches, what you can eat in one or two days. Beyond that, not so great! I guess these won't be part of my Christmas gift baskets this year =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
"Oh my goodness, these are so stinkin good!" I am so happy I came across this recipe today. It makes for a nice little snack. As there are 4 cups of walnuts in a pound, I only used 1 cup walnuts and 1/4 cup sugar. It would be dangerous to have too many of these around! I will remember this recipe for the holidays. Thank you Valerie for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
These are so very much like a nationally known brand of "Glazed Walnuts", but, without the sesame seeds. Thanks for the posting and the money savings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
These were so easy and so addicting. Instead of frying them, I placed them on a baking sheet and baked at 400 degrees for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
these are AWESOME! found recipe to make for this Christmas... EVERYONE loved them! even me and i'm not a walnut fan. made them again for NYE with cayenne sprinkled on it after being fried. simply awesome AND easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnSh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I'm so glad to have found this recipe, my mom and I used to make them all the time when I was young for the Christmas plates for neighbors, I love these little gems!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Highly recommended!! This reminds me of the walnuts that come with sweet fried shrimps that is my husband's favorite at Chinese restaurant. Figuring out the temperature and how long to keep the nuts in the oil was a bit of challenge but I learned after the first batch. This is a great appetizer and very easy and fast to make. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Seriously, my family went crazy for these! Very simple to make, just make sure you watch them in the oil because they do burn easily. My first batch burned when I cooked them for the recommended 4 minutes. The goal is so achieve a golden brown color. Additional tip: they're great when paired with spinach salads, apples, cheese, fried shrimp, oatmeal, and stir-frys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lyon, Rhône-Alpes, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I've been making these for years. They are excellent and well received as a gift. Easy to make but be careful they brown up very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Just finished a batch and Yum! I was so happy to find these--my mom made them every New Year's but we both lost the recipe long ago. The nuts do burn easily. Mine cooked in half the time listed over a very modest medium heat. The salt is optional, but I recommend it because it adds a nice bit of zing. Thanks so much for sharing this! Can't wait to send the recipe off to Mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novelist Lisa Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States