Chinese Eggplant Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I made this and it was a hit!! the spices I used and generous portions at that- turmeric, paprika, garlic salt, onion salt, cayenne, salt and pepper. Also I used polenta instead of corn meal because it was what I had available and it was mighty crunchy. Coconut oil is the oil to fry in most definitely!! this tasty bites only take a little bit of time which was perfect. I used a delicious dipping sauce which consisted of yogurt, cayenne, turmeric, paprika, and minced garlic. That really made the meal complete. so good. it needs the dip though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
It was pretty bland. next time i'll use more spice. It was also super thick with the double batter...i would only do it once next time..and water down the egg mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Manuel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Seriously bland. Far too much flour. Far too little actual spice. A pinch of cayenne against two cups of flour was meaningless. After my test batch I added 1/2 cup of hot curry, a tablespoon of paprika, and a tablespoon of tumeric. That made it rather tasty but is obviously nothing like the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
The process of making these were a bit annoying. I only dipped them once because doing that a second time was time consuming. I did put spices in the flour, and I seasoned the eggplants before hand. Lastly after dipping them into the flour I rolled them in some Italian Breadcrumbs, and they turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I didn't have corn meal, so I tried using breadcrumbs instead. I replaced the veggie oil with coconut oil - was very good! Had some that were in veggie oil and they were more soggy and just tasted more oily. I'd recommend coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I tried these and must say that we all loved them. I don't like any vegetables and have been trying to try new things this summer. I had never liked eggplant and my husband and daughter had never tried eggplant. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I made this recipe just the way it was,with the exact ingredients called for. I thought this was an excellent recipe,so did my better half. We did use a dip-Ranch and it made the fries even more delish.Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I agree they were bland. We added lots of extra cayenne, some adobo and allspice and they tasted a little better. The eggplant underneath the batter was good. They definitely need some kind of complimentary dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crikkitt
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
These were okay. I wouldn't go out to buy another eggplant just to make them, but if I got another eggplant in my bountiful baskets, I would make them again. I added garlic powder and onion powder to the flour/cornmeal mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
much better with italian bread crumbs with parm cheese added....and since they get more of an italian twist this way try dippin them in a maranara sauce!!! let me know what u think!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beej143

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States