Chinese Eggplant Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Fantastic and easy to prepare. Use a deep fryer. Add additional spices to the flour mixture to your taste. I lightly salted the eggplant and left the pieces in a bowl for about 1 hr. prior to frying and I only dipped once in the egg and flour mixture. My kids loved them with ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Yum... try dipping in ranch or blue cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
As a gardener and chef, I have lots of eggplant coming in, so i looked for a good way to put them to good use. You'r recipe is marvelous thanx for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
A kid favorite at our house. We where shocked!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I made this recipe just the way it was,with the exact ingredients called for. I thought this was an excellent recipe,so did my better half. We did use a dip-Ranch and it made the fries even more delish.Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I tried these and must say that we all loved them. I don't like any vegetables and have been trying to try new things this summer. I had never liked eggplant and my husband and daughter had never tried eggplant. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
This was very good. I dipped mine in ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This tasted good using StoveTop cornbread stuffing (processed finely) instead of the flour mixture, and had a lot of flavor. I cut them in 1/2 inch thick circles instead of julienne-style, and used mayo for dipping. Even my 12-year-old and 3-year-old liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ayanaya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I didn't have corn meal, so I tried using breadcrumbs instead. I replaced the veggie oil with coconut oil - was very good! Had some that were in veggie oil and they were more soggy and just tasted more oily. I'd recommend coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
The process of making these were a bit annoying. I only dipped them once because doing that a second time was time consuming. I did put spices in the flour, and I seasoned the eggplants before hand. Lastly after dipping them into the flour I rolled them in some Italian Breadcrumbs, and they turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States