Chinese Eggplant Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
Bland, but much better with extra salt, pepper & garlic powder added to flour mixture. I had extra zucchini so "french fried" it as well; it turned out FAR SUPERIOR to the eggplant. The zuccini was a HIT WITH OUR 5 YEAR OLD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer.Harrison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marinwood, California, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
Pretty messy to make, tasted pretty good but bland and not worth all the effort in my opinion. Maybe would be better with some spices added to the cornmeal/flour coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
much better with italian bread crumbs with parm cheese added....and since they get more of an italian twist this way try dippin them in a maranara sauce!!! let me know what u think!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beej143
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This tasted good using StoveTop cornbread stuffing (processed finely) instead of the flour mixture, and had a lot of flavor. I cut them in 1/2 inch thick circles instead of julienne-style, and used mayo for dipping. Even my 12-year-old and 3-year-old liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ayanaya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
With ranch, these were okay. They're bland otherwise. They were incredibly messy to make. Maybe a deep fryer would work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Yantai, Shandong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Very overated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I'm not an expert cook by any means, but the breading was somewhat bland and the oil combination caused a ton of smoke in my house. The eggplant tasted ok after we added an excess amount of cayenne and salt and pepper..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ejenny

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
A kid favorite at our house. We where shocked!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Limp, greasy. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I agree they were bland. We added lots of extra cayenne, some adobo and allspice and they tasted a little better. The eggplant underneath the batter was good. They definitely need some kind of complimentary dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States