Chinese Egg Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Great soup. I made this tonight accompanied with Marian Collins' Baked Teriyaki Chicken and Jostrander's Fried Rice. Absolutely excellent and much cheaper than going out for Chinese food. I followed the recipe exactly as written and it was fantastic, and oh so easy to prepare. Thanks "akhowell" a for sure keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Just made this because I was curious how easy it would be. Though I HATE the kind in the chinese resturants this was AMAZING! I was out of peas and green onions but its perfect just like it is! My 3 kids ages 7,6 and 2 were fighting over it! I tried it with chicken bullion and broth and both ways were yummy :) Just make sure your broth is BOILING when you put the eggs in or it will turn slushy. Weve eaten this 3 times in 2 days, even for breakfast! Pefect to sip and the protein is AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This turned out pretty well for me. I used 4 cups of stock and 4 eggs because I have chickens and needed to use up as many eggs as I could. I also added tofu for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is definitely a good starter but I, like others, prefer a different egg to broth ratio. I actually used 1 egg for every two cups of broth and might put even more in next time. I also was not a fan of the peas so next time I won't put those in. Also, I would whisk the eggs before putting them in the broth, to combine the yoke and the egg white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rochelle_fetters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Living In: St. Ignatius, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Very good soup! Because I was out of chicken broth, I made my own using two bullion cubes (if you want less salt, just use one). And since I'm not a pea lover, a can of corn sufficed. Definitely a fast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was a very easy, very good soup. I used two eggs and liked that very much. I didn't have the green onion, but wish I did; I will next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
we have been drinking this soup from coffee cups the past 2 mornings as a great breakfast soup in a cup takes all of 5min to make pour in a cup and go my wife hates eggs but loves this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigdaddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I made this soup two times and both times it was just missing something. I made it with the peas, and I made it without the peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I was surprised. It is quite good and so easy to make. Will surely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I absolutely loved it! I had no idea what to do with my extra bag of split peas, so when I saw this, I was very happy ! It turned out really good. I'm going to use a Tbsp. of sesame oil and a Tbsp of grated ginger in it next time :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly13

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States