Chinese Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Tastes just like the ones my mom used to buy from the store. Just what i was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
These were delicious. They received high marks from the whole family! I used butter instead of shortening and white wheat flour instead of cake flour. Impatient as I am, I just stuck the wrapped dough in the freezer for about 15 minutes and they were fine. I wasn't able to roll the dough into logs, though. It turned out more squarish so I had to reshape the dough after chilling. Also 1 roll was way too big, I rolled my dough into 2 "logs" and wrapped them separately. Overall, these cookies were a big success. I used the Quick Fudge Icing (from All-Recipes) and also sprinkled a little powdered sugar on the cookies prior to baking.No walnuts for me, but they were great without! The cookies kept well and the entire family enjoyed these immensely! Great recipe, I would definitely recommend trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paradise, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Love! These are my favorite cookies. I added more vanilla (about twice the amount) as I didn't have butter shortening, but regular (no flavor there!). The dough wasn't crumbly as many had stated, but this might have to do with the fact it's warm in my kitchen and the shortening was soft. I used a fudge recipe for the frosting, and put a small piece on top of each cookie for the last half of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I split the dough, flavouring half with chocolate and half with almond, and then shaped each ball of dough into a sausage shape. I then twisted the two different flavours of dough together and smoothed the sides to form one long, stripey roll of cookie dough! It looked so pretty that I decided to split this long roll in two again, rolling each half in different colour sprinkles. Once chilled, the consistency was perfect for slicing the dough into individual cookies. I would really recommend this recipe, though I did have to add some milk before I could chill it, as the mixture was very dry without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Superb. flakey, light and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
One of the Best cookies I have ever made. Tastes just like what you can remember getting at bakery! I used butter flavored crisco and chopped pecans, because thats what I had. Hubby loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
These got rave reviews at work. I had to add water to make the dough manageable. Otherwise it was crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Wow! These are amazing! I was pretty worried because they were awfully crumbly when I was try to roll into a log, but after sitting in the fridge it made them stick a bit more and they are just perfect. I will definitely make again. I also got 3-4 dozen out of these ingredients as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made these exactly as the recipe stated. They are identical tasting to the ones I buy at our local grocery store. They are great. The only slight problem for me was the dough was dry and crumbled a bit when trying to roll it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I must have done something wrong, but I didn't have a good experience with these. I omitted walnuts and took other peoples recommendations and added the cocoa powder. They turned out looking like doodoo...the dough was not dough like. It was like it needed flour to become dough. It was runny, but not runny. I'm not making sense, but I followed the recipe exactly except for the walnuts and the cocoa powder. *sigh* I had so much hopes for this cookie, but I guess I'm doing it wrong. If anyone knows what I did wrong, let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildstyled

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States