Chinese Cold Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This was delicious and really easy. I added a little lemon juice to make it tangier but otherwise kept to the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
Loved this simple and tasty recipe. The perfect accompaniment to our picnic! I used spaghetti, and just eyed the ingredients, used about 4 tablespoons of peanut butter, a little less garlic and chili flakes in the dressing. A word of advice: make the dressing in the blender. I started by stiring as directions suggested, but ended up with a congealed mess. A quick puree in the blender yeilded the smooth, creamy consistency I was looking for. Also added shredded carrot. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Fabulous! I love Pad Thai, and this is close in taste. I added chicken, cucumber, tahini and carrots, as well as a bit of extra peanut butter and broth. Love it. Has anyone tried adding a bit of fish sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I was so happy when I found this recipe! I studied in China for a summer and my absolute favorite dish was very similar to this one. If you want it to be like the one that I ate in Beijing, you should leave out the bell pepper and cilantro and add finely chopped little strips of cucumber. Also, they would throw in very small crouton-sized chunks of soft sourdough-tasting bread. It was always very spicy with LOTS of red pepper flakes and there was always LOTS of sauce - more than this recipe calls for - so that the bread would be soaked. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, Julie!!! I am *so* happy to finally be able to eat my favorite Chinese dish again! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathbar
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I used this recipe as a base. I used "Hot Peanut Sauce" recipe from this site as the sauce. I used whole wheat linguine for pasta. I added the red bell pepper, cilantro, red pepper flakes, and scallions as directed. I tossed in strips of chopped cucumber and finely chopped peanuts at the end. With the changes, a 4. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ammelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
It was great I added some diced chicken breast. I'll make this again. My picky girlfriend ate it up and even had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big E

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Per some reviewers, I added grated carrots, some thinly sliced cabbage, and a little grated ginger to the mixture. I whirred up the dressing in my little mini food prep food processor and that worked very well. I didn't like my inital batch of dressing, so I tossed it out and tried again, omitting the broth and adding some water instead, substituting some tahini for some of the peanut butter, and adding about a tablespoon of vinegar to the mix. It was better but still needs snap, in my opinion. I added toasted sesame seeds to the top. I thought the recipe needed a lot of salt added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graniteville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I did not care for this recipe too much. I guess I was expecting something different--something more like a Thai peanut sauce dish. Instead, this just tasted like peanut butter. My husband ate what was on his plate but we threw the rest out. (And my husband will eat just about anything!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I didn't want to rate this recipe b/c it wouldn't be fair to the original poster however I wanted to share my experience so no one else would make the same mistakes I did!!!! I tried to lighten this recipe with whole wheat fettucine and reduced fat PB--and while I added more fiber and reduced the calories--I could not eat the salad. I will make again and follow the original recipe and I am sure it will be delicious!!! I have lightened up many recipes with great success but this was NOT the case with this one!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
Solid recipe. I used cayenne instead of red pepper flakes because I had it, and it was fine. Also added salt. Good recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States