Chinese Cold Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Great flavor, but I had it warm rather than cold. It was a little too hot for me though, I think next time I'll use 1/2 the amount of crushed red pepper, it's safer to let people add more after the fact than try to tone it down. I also used a little fresh ginger in the sauce, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made this for a gathering and it was not enjoyable at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was great. The spice was spot on! We made this with some lettuce wraps, and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GinaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This is a good asian cold noodle salad. For the dressing I added a little rice wine vinegar and fresh grated ginger. I also added cucumbers and extra firm tofu cubes. I substituted buckwheat soba noodles for the fettuccini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrieannro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poplar Grove, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This pasta salad was great! Things I added were: shreaded carrots, bean sprouts, baby corn, a little fresh lime for garnish. One problem. After putting it all together and letting it sit overnight, the pasta was dry (I did microwave the peanut butter so that it was easier to mix). So, my mother-n-law suggested we try adding sesame soy ginger vinaigrette salad dressing from Trader Joes. Wow! What a difference. That's exactly what the salad needed taste wise and made it easier to toss. It inhanced the flavor too. I also didn't add as much red pepper as other reviews suggested. Oh, and I did add a little bit of red wine vineger too. The dish was the hit at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
What a wonderful salad! I wasn't aware, from the serving size, that it made four very large entree-size servings - it's more like 8-10 salad size servings. Anyways, this dish turned out very well. I used whole wheat penne pasta instead of noodles because I felt they might be unwieldy at our potluck event. As suggested by other posts, I added 1/2 tbsp of sesame oil and 1 1/2 tbsp red wine vinegar to the liquids and 1 c. each shredded carrots and cabbage to the veggies. I do wish I had heeded the advice of others and cut back on the red pepper. I had a few complaints the sauce was too spicy and by the second day out, you couldn't taste anything but the heat. I plan to cut it by half for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Delicious! I kicked up the flavor by drizzling the cooked and drained noodles with sesame oil before adding the sauce. I also added about a tablespoon of honey to the sauce for a little sweetness. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I made this recipe exactly but added snow peas and water chestnuts, I thought it was kinda blah but with a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I really wanted something with an oriental flavor that wouldn't take me an hour to make (egg rolls and such). This worked out really well. My hubby didn't like the bell pepper in it and requested that I use broccoli next time. My sister on the other hand, loved it! And that is a good thing because she hates oriental food. I liked it as well, although I knocked up the spiciness considerably because I like things hot. Overall, it turned out really well. Oh, and I did double the amount of sauce made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gildawen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Excellent! I added half a bag of frozen mixed bell pepper strips I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States