Chinese Cocktail Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Excellent recipe... just needed extra butter for the filling. We used 3/4 cup instead. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather McKay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
It was very easy to make and I have them a few more times. The only modification I made to the original recipe is I added an extra 1/2 cup of butter to make the filling easier to handle and less dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
WOW! So easy and they came out perfect!This made 16 and there are 5 left and its only been 10 minutes..I have 2 small boys and a husband who are very picky and these buns taste exactly like the ones at the T&T market. Thank you for such an amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ngan_N
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I tried this recipe with taro inside. It still tastes pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
These are really very good. Buns were soft & filling was the right consistency (it is supposed to be crumbly). I really wanted to give it 5 stars, but like another reviewer said, it seems to lack salt. Although, looking at a couple other recipes for cocktail buns, none of them had salt in the filling. Perhaps I needed to use salted butter and not unsalted? I didn't change a single thing from the instructions. I'll try to add a little salt next time and hopefully I can come back and give it 5 stars! I think that if I've never had "professional" versions of these, I might've given this 5 stars. But the filling just wasn't quite right flavorwise. Also, this is the first time I've tried to open & grate a fresh coconut. Holy cow, that part alone took me an extra hour and I nearly worked my arm off! Next time I will buy some pre packaged coconut flakes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This recipie I had to do for an assignment I thoughht it would not taste so good and i thought it had actual achohaul in it but it doesn't, and it tastes really good. Also appropret for school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cushing, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
These came out awesome. Just like the ones from the Chinese bakery. I know some reviewers were commenting that the filling were crumbly but that's how I always got them from the bakery. Love the recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Just made them and extremely impressed with how they turned out! Taste exactly how the Chinese bakeries make 'em! Instead of making them oblong shape, I made them round and put black sesame instead. Also, I followed the other reviewer and used milk and vanilla pudding instead of the dry milk (great substitute!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
These were delicious and easy to make. They were quite popular at a Chinese New Year's celebration dinner. They all disappeared within minutes. One fresh coconut was perfect for doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Wonderful dough for any sweet thing. I made these buns and cinnamon rolls with the same dough. It also freezes beautifully. After I put it back in the fridge to use the next day, I didn't get to it for a few days AND it still rose and baked BEAUTIFUL cinnamon rolls. BUT... There is only one thing that's missing and that's salt. It is a bit bland without adding salt. Maybe it was accidentally forgotten in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States