Chinese Cocktail Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
It was very easy to make and I have them a few more times. The only modification I made to the original recipe is I added an extra 1/2 cup of butter to make the filling easier to handle and less dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
WOW! So easy and they came out perfect!This made 16 and there are 5 left and its only been 10 minutes..I have 2 small boys and a husband who are very picky and these buns taste exactly like the ones at the T&T market. Thank you for such an amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ngan_N
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I tried this recipe with taro inside. It still tastes pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
These are really very good. Buns were soft & filling was the right consistency (it is supposed to be crumbly). I really wanted to give it 5 stars, but like another reviewer said, it seems to lack salt. Although, looking at a couple other recipes for cocktail buns, none of them had salt in the filling. Perhaps I needed to use salted butter and not unsalted? I didn't change a single thing from the instructions. I'll try to add a little salt next time and hopefully I can come back and give it 5 stars! I think that if I've never had "professional" versions of these, I might've given this 5 stars. But the filling just wasn't quite right flavorwise. Also, this is the first time I've tried to open & grate a fresh coconut. Holy cow, that part alone took me an extra hour and I nearly worked my arm off! Next time I will buy some pre packaged coconut flakes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This recipie I had to do for an assignment I thoughht it would not taste so good and i thought it had actual achohaul in it but it doesn't, and it tastes really good. Also appropret for school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cushing, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
These came out awesome. Just like the ones from the Chinese bakery. I know some reviewers were commenting that the filling were crumbly but that's how I always got them from the bakery. Love the recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Just made them and extremely impressed with how they turned out! Taste exactly how the Chinese bakeries make 'em! Instead of making them oblong shape, I made them round and put black sesame instead. Also, I followed the other reviewer and used milk and vanilla pudding instead of the dry milk (great substitute!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
These were delicious and easy to make. They were quite popular at a Chinese New Year's celebration dinner. They all disappeared within minutes. One fresh coconut was perfect for doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Wonderful dough for any sweet thing. I made these buns and cinnamon rolls with the same dough. It also freezes beautifully. After I put it back in the fridge to use the next day, I didn't get to it for a few days AND it still rose and baked BEAUTIFUL cinnamon rolls. BUT... There is only one thing that's missing and that's salt. It is a bit bland without adding salt. Maybe it was accidentally forgotten in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
The bun came out just perfect. Everyone liked the filling. Will try red bean paste filling next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States