Chinese Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This is one of our favorite quick treats. I almost always double the recipe. This also works with any kind of chocolate chips you have OR butterscotch chips instead of peanut butter chips. EXCELLENT recipe for beginning cooks/little hands who want to make something in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I never tried this exact variation, but I followed the recipe as written with the exception of using milk chocolate in place of semisweet. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I changed chips to butterscotch chips and omitted peanuts and added 1 cup extra chow-mein noodles due to peanut allergies. Also, I melted chips in microwave, 2 minutes on high seemed just right. I would stop and stir after 1 minute and then every 30 seconds. They almost got to stiff so be careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLA Deb
Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
These were a staple on my mom's Christmas cookie platters growing up! Now I usually make them w/ my son and nephews and we decorate them w/ holiday colored sprinkles...they get a huge kick out of it. We even sometimes will make them for Halloween, decorate them and call them spiders. Super simple, but delicious treat, and one that the kids love to help make (and eat)! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I love this recipe, I made this awhile ago because it was too hot to put the oven on to make anything, therefore this was great....I put them in the fridge to harden so that I don't have to eat too many!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
These are really good! I'm a big fan of peanut clusters and the addition of the crunchy chow mein noodles is great! I would probably leave out the peanut butter next time (chocolate doesnt get hard). Maybe add some cashews?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I doubled this right off the bat. My family is not crazy about peanuts so instead of 2 cups I used a cup and a half and an extra half cup of noodles. Next time I may omit the peanuts or substitute something else. I did not use the microwave shortcut to melt the chips and it set up just fine. Even after coming back to room temperature after the refrigeration time, they were perfect-no problems with the chocolate getting melty. This will be added to my Christmas baking repertoire. It's nice to have a great recipe for something unique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Easy to make and delicious to eat! I followed the recipe exactly and made a batch and a half the first time. Very very simple! I am not a "baker"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I made these cookies last Christmas and never got to try one ... This year I have 6 different requests for these cookies!! I guess their pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Great, easy, recipe. The chocolate and PB flavor along with the crispiness of the chow mein noodles, make these a crowd pleaser. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States