Chinese Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
It was a quirkey little soup for me. I think it is a good base but I plan to make some changes in the future like less soy sauce. I used Thai red curry paste which was good but just a 1/2 Tbs was just a notch too spicy for us. And I would add lots more veggies and broth. Used green cabbage this time instead of lettuce. Would add some broccoli slaw (thin sliced broccoli and carrots). Use plain old fusuli noodles and that was fine. I will make it again though with my changes. I think it will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I had a 1lb marg tub of frozen leftover homemade chicken & noodles. I wanted to do this for dinner. I was out of sesame oil so I roasted some sesame seeds, added 2 tbs of oil to them. Added the turmeric, chile paste ( I only used a tbs) a heaping tsp of dried ginger, added 4 cups of broth with my leftovers, used honey instead of sugar (because the honey was sitting right there begging to be used) I pretty much followed the rest of the instructions..skipping the celery and ramen since they were already in there, I chopped up however much salad was left in the bag, I'm guessing around 2 cups.. It turned out great and the heat ended up being just right for us. Great soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Very good soup - healthy, inexpensive, easy, and flexible recipe. My husband asked me to save this recipe (where I could find it again!) and make it often. As did many others, I made minor changes based on what I had on hand - used leftover rotisserie chicken, spinach instead of lettuce. Also I used soft ramen noodles (healthier) and added a bit of chopped roasted red pepper for color. Everything else was made as the recipe was written, including the celery which we enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enkimoz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
We really enjoyed this soup! I didn't follow the recipe exactly as written. I didn't have green onions or celery on hand so I omitted those, and used powdered ginger. I did as other reviewers and used vermicelli instead of the ramen and also added some egg, to make it like egg drop soup. My main complaint about the recipe is that it was way too spicy for me. I should have used only 1 TB of chili paste instead of 2. I also added quite a bit more sugar to cut the spice. Still turned out nice and tasty even if it is spicier than I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This soup is fantastic! I used spinach in place of lettuce just because it's what I already had. There was just enough kick. The celery is not overbearing and if you wait to eat the soup after it's been refrigeratedd for a day, it's even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Coloma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BK
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This soup is amazing. This is a new favorite in our home. The only thing I do not add is chicken broth. That's because I use bone-in chicken breasts so that it makes it's own broth. I first sear the chicken and cook until it starts getting color, then I add garlic and ginger, and turmeric until fragrant. Then the chili paste (I use the garlic chili pase with the rooster on it-yum!) Then I add soysauce, sugar, and water enough to cover the chicken, cover and boil until chicken is done. It gets all the flavor in the meat. Then remove and shred the meat off the bone. Return to pot and after returning to med. boil add the celery and lettuce as directed, and YUM! Separately I have cooked chinese noodles from the Asian asle. Perfect! very healthy too. Great for warding off a cold ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I love it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
So good and easy to make. Sometimes I use fresh spinach instead of lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Used this recipe as a base to determine ratio for seasonings. Delicious! My step-daughter, age 14, complimented it several times, and of course, had seconds. Thanks. Added finely chopped red pepper, sliced mushrooms, water chestnuts and sliced carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Pretty good. I followed other's suggestion and only put in a smidge of chili paste (actually, I only had curry on hand, but same dif in terms of spicy factor). I didn't have turmeric, either. Only used two tsps (rather than tablespoons) of sesame oil and it was fine. Lots of chopping and pulling stuff out of cupboards but if you're in the mood for "take out" Chinese or noodles, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearview

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States