Chinese Chicken Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Very good - kind of a little more work than I bargained for, but that's because I made the chicken from scratch. Next time I'll either use a rotisserie chicken or leftover roasted chicken. I think I agree that this recipe is a bit carrot-heavy, and might replace them with something else -- julienned cucumbers? -- next time. I also agree that the wonton wrappers don't take anywhere near to 20 minutes; some of mine were burned at 8. Next time I'll stir them a few times and start checking them at five, just to be on the safe side. I was pleased at how crispy they came out, though, and the peanut dressing was awesome! Finally, I took the advice of another reviewer and dressed the salad with a lime vinaigrette (lime juice, a half teaspoon or so of mustard, and salt, pepper and olive oil to taste) and I think that really pepped the salad up. The peanut dressing is very sweet and a bit heavy, and the tartness of the lime juice adds brightness. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This salad was outstanding. I thought it was easy, quick and the taste was awesome. I love the Won Tons on top. I nipped and tucked just a little to lower the calories (peanut butter, chicken & sugar), but used everything and made just the way the recipe said. We absolutely loved it. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Way too thick and glopy. One star is too many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Great Salad, next time I'm going to add some soya sauce to the dressing and sliced toasted almonds and red peppers to the salad, maybe some water chestnuts too! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This was excellent!! Because of what I read in the reviews i only used half the peanut butter and only baked the wonton wrappers for 10 mins. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
The dressing for this salad was fabulous...the problem I had with this recipe was that there was way too many carrots which made the salad soggy....i guess if I would have used the carrots from the supermarket that are already shredded and dried out it may have worked. I would just use less fresh carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lil Mermaid
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This is similar to a salad my mom makes. But the dressing needs to be tweaked. My hubby said the peanut butter was a little strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I served this to a crew of 7; even the kids went back for seconds. I used Jif "Natural" in it, which made the peanut butter too prominent; if you plan on using a natural variety, it would be prudent to dial down the amount of PB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This went over really well!!! Contrary to other reviews, I thought it could use a little more peanut butter, brown sugar, & chili sauce. I boiled the chicken with a little white wine, but I think it would of been much better grilled. I used spring mix, subbed 1/2 the carrots with red pepper strips, used toasted almonds in place of the wontons, & half the green onions (it was a really large bunch). After the dressing cooled, it was extremely thick, so I thinned it with mandarin orange juice. Will definitely be making again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I thought it was great although not eaten by my husband as it had a fishy taste to the peanut sauce since it had hoisen sauce in it. The kids & myself ate it up. I think I'll use the sauce for something else in the future. I added sesame seeds to the sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veritas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States