Chinese Chicken Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
VERY GOOD, as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Dressing was too strong, too salty. Hoisin sauce is already strong by itself and adding the peanut butter didn't make it any better. I eat hoisin sauce all the time and I think it wasn't used properly in this recipe. This would probably be better as a meat marinade or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aznsouris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I was hoping that I would like this, but it turned out that I didnt care for it. It was mainly the sauce. I thought the sauce was way to strong and had a wierd flavor. The salad is wonderful, but I would just prefer a different sauce to go with it. I just ended up making it into a regular chicken salad with ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Hmmm.. not what I was expecting. The dressing tasted a little off. I did add the mandarin juice, which salvaged it I think. My husband did say it was "ridiculous!", so I will give it 4**'s. Don't think I'll be making it again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I loved it !!! Made two bowls just for myself. Yummy.I put a little bit of oil because the dressing was really thick but otherwise I followed everything. Next time I will try to use to manderian juice..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VIVNIDHI
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
My family loved it. Used tofu instead of chicken, otherwise followed the recipe to the "t". Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
2 tablespoons peanut butter seemed a bit much. If I make this again, I will start with a teaspoon and work my way up. The peanut was all we could taste in the dressing. Boyfriend and 2 kids all said: with a different dressing, this would be a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
We love this recipe! I've made it over and over again. However, I do add either water or mandarin orange juice to thin out the dressing to the right consistency and I also don't bother with the wontons--I just add crispy chow mein noodles. A really great salad--makes a perfect light dinner or lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North East, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I loved the dressing! I didn't have the chili sauce so used chili oil (with the chili peppers in it) and it turned out great. I also used Napa cabbage instead since that's what I had. I think it would be great with sliced red peppers, snow peas, water chestnuts, etc. The one thing I wasn't so keen on was the wontons. I didn't particularly like the way they came out baked in teh oven. While I appreciate the lower fat content, I would have prefered mine fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
At first I didn't like this dressing as much as the other Asian style dressings I usually make. But the spiciness and peanut butter are not usual ingredients in a chinese chicken salad dressing, and by the end of my bowl of salad, I was ready for a refill. I didn't even add chicken or wonton skins, and it was still great. I used green leaf lettuce, though, because that's what I had, and I wouldn't recommend that. The lettuce was wilted right away. Stick with romaine or other crunchy things like cabbage or iceberg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kapaa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States