Chinese Chicken Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
We loved the recipe. I would agree with a previous reviewer and would cut back the red chili in half (or just add to taste). We also put additional sesame oil and olive oil to reduce the thickness. I tripled the recipe and took it to a potluck last night and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I had to alter this recipe a little - didn't have hoisin sauce and didn't want to wait, so used sweet chili sauce in the dressing instead. cut out the brown sugar. Still, it is a fantastic dressing, and over crisp veggies and crunchy noodles, this was the best chinese chicken salad I've ever had! This dressing would work well as a dip for chicken skewers, egg rolls, and pot stickers. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This salad was by far one of the best chinese chicken salads I have ever had, even betther than most restaurants. My husband had three servings. The only changes I made was that I bought the wontons pre made to save time and I bought some General Tso's chicken at the deli cut it up into strips and put it in the salad rather than using plain chicken. We will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I started a membership just so I could review this recipe. We made this for our Monday night girls' night this week and everyone loved it. The dressing is to die for, and would make a great marinade on meats as well. The only change we made was that we bought the prepackaged crunchy salad noodles. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is way better than the chicken salad my family loves to get at a local restaurant. I actually did the sauce in triplicate because my Dad loves to put extra on his salad. I poached the chicken in broth so that it would be very moist and tender and have some good flavor (for about 15 mins on med heat, halfway covered in broth or stock). I also added julien sliced red and orange bell pepper for flavor. I didn't want to turn on my oven in the heat, so I sprinkled the top with chow mein noodles after tossing and served with them on the side so ppl could add as they choose. Next time, instead of tossing the salad ahead of time with dressing, I will serve it with the dressing on the side. It caused my romaine lettuce to wilt a little too much. I was unable to find chili paste at my grocery store, so I substituted Hot Garlic Chili sauce, and it added a nice flavor without too much heat. I will def. continue to cook this as a meal in the summer since I love a one dish meal. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa2roberto
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Although baking your wonton strip is obvisiously healthier, tuning the oven on for 20 mins for something that will take 2 mins in a little oil. I choose frying. The first couple bites I found ok, however, once the flavors started melding together, oh wow! Hubby loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
My 14 year old, picky-extreme son said this is "sick". Which in teen-speak is a 5 star. We all loved it. Added a few chopped peanuts for texture. Didn't have chili paste on-hand so just used red pepper flakes. Also held the carrots because they make my son nervous :-) Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Try it. Very good. Try adding a citrus, onion, peanuts, rice vinegar. Delicious with the changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
really good, I use half the Pbutter though to cut down on the fat, and pump up the spice a bit with some hot sauce. YUM! Sometimes I roast sesame seeds adn throw in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This was even better than those at the restaurants! The dressing has a slight kick that really makes it great. As stated in some other reviews the dressing is slightly thick so i did add another tablespoon of sesame oil and one of veggie oil. i also shredded the romaine instead to mimic my favorite restaurant's style and did 1/2 lettuce and 1/2 napa cabbage. i also marinaded my chicken in a store bought marinade because we don't dig plain chicken. everything turned out great. even without changes this recipe is a surely keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States