Chinese Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I have made this recipe several times and it is always a hit. I use less margarine to brown the noodles and then I drain them on a few paper towels. That process absorbs quite a bit of the fat and also makes for crispier noodles. I've also used plain white vinegar if that's all I have and the dressing still taste great. Like some other reviewers, I keep the dressing, noodle mix and cabbage separate until ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This is a staple at all family gatherings, only we use coleslaw mix in place of the carrots & cabbage, and cashews or sunflower nuts in place of the sesame seeds. We actually like it better the next day even though the noodles get soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This is our favorite recipe!!! It is SO good and tasty. We also add sliced almonds and little chunks of chicken!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lacey, Washington, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
it tastes even better the next day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I have tasted so many variations of this popular salad. I had very high hopes for this one, but I was unable to get the sesame oil (the kicker ingredient!) I threw in a little bottled sesame salad dressing and it turned out okay. Not fabulous. I will try again with the sesame oil and hope it turns out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I really enjoyed this today for lunch. I omitted the sugar and added a few splashes of soy sauce. Cabbage is now considered one of the top ten healthiest foods, so I was very pleased that I could incorporate this into my diet so deliciously. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Hi, I make this salad but my recipe is for a large group of people. It calls for a head of cabbage. It also has toasted slivered almonds. I make ahead but add the almonds, sesame seeds, and ramien noodles just before serving. You are rignt, everyone loves it and asks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
v. good! my husband won't try it though, b/c he says it smells too vinegary. me, i can sip vinegar, so this was really up my alley. perfect for a summer sunday like today. (a few hours later) i decided this salad was a little sweet! ended up adding more vinegar, and will possibly go back and add some green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
This recipe is very simple and tastes great. I was looking for a quick cabbage side dish, and this worked! I didn't have carrots, and substituted white vinegar and reg. vegetable oil. I also mixed some canned tuna into my portion to make a healthy salad, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
This was very good! Took it to Easter Sunday dinner and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICASRECIPES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States