Chinese Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I have made this recipe several times and it is always a hit. I use less margarine to brown the noodles and then I drain them on a few paper towels. That process absorbs quite a bit of the fat and also makes for crispier noodles. I've also used plain white vinegar if that's all I have and the dressing still taste great. Like some other reviewers, I keep the dressing, noodle mix and cabbage separate until ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This is a staple at all family gatherings, only we use coleslaw mix in place of the carrots & cabbage, and cashews or sunflower nuts in place of the sesame seeds. We actually like it better the next day even though the noodles get soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This is our favorite recipe!!! It is SO good and tasty. We also add sliced almonds and little chunks of chicken!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lacey, Washington, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
it tastes even better the next day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I have tasted so many variations of this popular salad. I had very high hopes for this one, but I was unable to get the sesame oil (the kicker ingredient!) I threw in a little bottled sesame salad dressing and it turned out okay. Not fabulous. I will try again with the sesame oil and hope it turns out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I really enjoyed this today for lunch. I omitted the sugar and added a few splashes of soy sauce. Cabbage is now considered one of the top ten healthiest foods, so I was very pleased that I could incorporate this into my diet so deliciously. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Hi, I make this salad but my recipe is for a large group of people. It calls for a head of cabbage. It also has toasted slivered almonds. I make ahead but add the almonds, sesame seeds, and ramien noodles just before serving. You are rignt, everyone loves it and asks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
v. good! my husband won't try it though, b/c he says it smells too vinegary. me, i can sip vinegar, so this was really up my alley. perfect for a summer sunday like today. (a few hours later) i decided this salad was a little sweet! ended up adding more vinegar, and will possibly go back and add some green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
This recipe is very simple and tastes great. I was looking for a quick cabbage side dish, and this worked! I didn't have carrots, and substituted white vinegar and reg. vegetable oil. I also mixed some canned tuna into my portion to make a healthy salad, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
This was very good! Took it to Easter Sunday dinner and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICASRECIPES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States