Chinese Cabbage Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I saved a similar salad from another site 10 years ago. I call it 'BROCCOLI SLAW, RAMEN' in my recipe file, and have tweaked it somewhat from the original. Differences: DRESSING: I use 'Oriental flavored' Ramen, use only about 1/4 cup oil (don't need more), use rice vinegar instead of red wine, and add a few shakes of cayenne pepper as well as the black pepper and salt. I don't bother heating dressing, either. SALAD: Break up Ramen noodles into small pieces, and saute in a couple of Tbsp. butter with the almonds (2-3 Tbsp.) and sesame seeds (2 Tbsp.) until slightly change color. Set aside. Combine broccoli slaw (my packages seem to come in 12 oz. pkgs, instead of 16 oz.) and dressing at least 15-20 minutes ahead of serving, stirring several times. Just before serving add the sauteed noodles, almonds and sesame seeds to top, don't stir them in completely or they lose their crispness. I love serving this salad with crab cakes, they add a little cachet to the menu, and I've never found anyone who didn't rave about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Used Cole Slaw mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leesville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Yum! I brought this to a cookout recently and everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. I made the recipe exactly as stated in the instructions. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I made this salad for 25 people (Graduation) I changed the red wine vinegar to Raspberry Balsamic Vinegar and used half canola/half vegetable oils...FABULOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KARPOWELL
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I made this last night and it was a hit!! I didn't change a thing, but next time I will use less oil, it did seem a little on the oily side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Very good. Have made more than once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lemmon, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Made this exactly as written...it seem to need a little more sugar. One half cup oil seemed a lttle too much oil, it was kind of greasy. I have had some really good Chinese cabbage salads, but this just didn't quite do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi2Five

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I didn't have any almonds or sesame seeds, but this still turned out fabulous! I served this as a side to diced chicken breast that I coated and cooked in bottled hoisin sauce..easy, quick, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newfoodie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This salad is wonderful! Exactly what I was looking for! I decrease the oil to 3Tblsp. and use Oriental-flavored ramen noodles instead of chicken. My 5-year-old LOVES this and so does my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This was very good. I loved the dressing! Instead of vegetable oil I used sesame oil and since it’s pretty strong I added much less. Forgot the green onions at the store and didn’t miss them. Finally I also toasted the ramen noodles at 400 degrees for 5 minutes or so. Served with whiskey burgers and sweet potato fries I did on the grill. Perfect combo. Just a weird question but… why is this called Chinese Cabbage Salad II when there isn’t actually any cabbage in it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States