Chinese Cabbage Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This a wonderful change from a "traditional" coleslaw, which I don't like. I cut down the oil and sugar to 1/3 of a cup. I thought I had rice wine vinegar, but I had red wine vinegar which I used instead of cidar vinegar and it still turned out great. I added a tablespoon of sesame oil and toasted sesame seeds. I boiled the marinade for about a minute and let it rest and come to room temp before pouring it over the broccoli slaw mixture I got from the store. My husband was pleasantly surprised and is looking forward to "us" taking it to our next family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was great! I omitted the nuts and added toasted sesame seeds and a few drops of sesame seed oil. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This was delicious. It reminded me a lot of broccoli salad. Next time I'll try olive oil in place of the veg. oil and either reduce the sugar or use splenda. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Hankis DeWald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Made this for a get together with neighbors. It was a HUGE hit! Everyone wanted the recipe. I will be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
SO Good! Next I am going to add some broccoli pieces to the mix. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
AWESOME!!!! I normally do not like salads this much but on this one the dressing makes it, I even cut the sugar in half and it was still super sweet! It definitely needs chicken (which I added) and I think next time I will add some chilled lo mien noodles and mandarin orange slices... then it would be PERFECT! I will eat this salad often! THANKS!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I have made this recipe for years, my husband had an idea to put Broccoli slaw. And that was great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uffdabaybee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Fantastic side dish! I will cut the oil in half next time and I also heated the dressing to dissolve the sugar. I also used almonds rather than cashews and it tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I also added the seasoning package from the ramen nood noodles. The cashews are a nice additional crunch and flavor. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luana Henry (Massey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I expected a lot from this salad based on all the rave reviews. It was good, but it did not blow me away. It was, however, very easy to put together (I used a prepacked salad from the store).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States