Chinese Cabbage Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
We love it!.. My additions are 1/2 tsp. sesame oil in the dressing and also some sesame seeds on the salad looks pretty! For a main dish I add cooked/breaded/chopped chicken (Tyson), mandarin oranges and a little chopped Italian parsley when I have it. So yummy! Be sure you whisk enough so it will emulsify before pouring on.; my preference is to pour over about 15 min before because the ramen can be pretty crunchy.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I made this for a sidedish and found the recipe was great. I didn't use shredded coleslaw mix as the recipe calls for, but instead finely chopped 1/2 head of a small cabbage and shredded carrots into it. Results were delicious, but I think the shredded slaw mix would have made the vegetable-to-dressing ratio better. Using the chopped cabbage method, and soaking most of the cabbage, I still had 1/2 of the dressing leftover. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This is one of the better cabbage dishes I've had - the nuts add good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I love this original recipe when I tried it but have altered it over time to address my desire to eat less processed stuff and more whole foods. So I switched out the oil for a pureed avocado and the white sugar with an equal amount of honey. I also always use either almonds or walnuts. I occassionally add other shredded veggies like beets, parsnips or carrots, and occassionally a finely diced firm apple. Braggs liquid aminos are an easy substitue for soy sauce but I tend to stick with the original. Have served it at family gatherings with all different variations and it has always been a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I had high hopes for this with all the great reviews and we followed the recipe exactly as is, so I was really disappointed with the final result. The cider vinegar was overpowering, the dressing very oily.. We'll be looking for another recipe for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent (with modifications) - 5 STARS! I made this recipe for Christmas dinner....NO leftovers! I will definitely make again! It's a keeper :) Modifications: Left out the cashews 2 ramen noodle packets instead of 1 Sauteed the noodles in a skillet with a little butter instead of using the oven Added seasoning packet to dressing mixture, and simmered the dressing to emulsify it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I made this for a family gathering and everybody loved it. I made no changes. It was the most popular salad/side dish and I am preparing it again for our Christmas Eve dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I have made this 5 or 6 times and it is great. I go ahead and put dressing on hours in advance and it doesn't make it soggy, but gives it a nice marinated flavor! Everyone loves it every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Yum! I chopped up my own cabbage and carrots and added a little broccoli, too. Didn't have any cashews on hand but I'm sure it'd be delicious with those, too. I did toast some sesame seeds with the ramen. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Wolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
simple delicious! Thanks, used almonds and added a hint of sesame oil to the dressing (and halfed it). Toasted the almonds and ramen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States