Chinese Cabbage Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I made this dressing the night before a potluck and focused more on the reviews than on the actual ingredients. In the morning, this dressing was more of a syrup than a dressing. I started over with the following recipe (just submitted) instead: 1/3 cups vegetable oil 1 tbsp vinegar 1 tbsp soy sauce 1 tbsp sugar Dry powder from soup mix Added to dressing cabbage and nuts (1/2 cup sliced almonds) just before serving. Much better than the syrup would have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I also cut the oil to 1/4 cup. I used olive oil and instead of cider vinegar I used red wine vinegar. I toasted the ramen noodles with some sesame seeds and lightly sprayed them with olive oil spray and sprinkled a bit of the chicken spice pack over them. I added the rest of the spice packet to the dressing along with a couple dashes of dried minced garlic. I used almonds instead of cashews. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redheadmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Everyone wanted the recipe. I added a small bag of julienned broccoli, carrots -sold right next to the bagged salad/coleslaw for color. It was great, nothing really needed to be added I just happened to be in the mood! Make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Great! Excellent for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Other than substituting almonds, I followed the recipe exactly. The dressing needs no modifications. Everything about this recipe is fantastic. Stick to it, and you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HanakoLei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This was okay. I made the recipe as is and it was too sour. I had high expectations for this recipe because of all the great reviews. If I make this recipe again, I will reduce the cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Very very good! This salad was a hit with my husband and he doesn't like cabbage very much! I reduced the sugar quite a bit though; I though 1/2 cup was way too much. I used abour 2-3 Tbs. of sugar. I also used dark soya sauce wich gave it a darker color. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aaronruby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I wasn't expecting to like this recipe, but it really surprised me. The only thing I plan on adjusting next time, is the amount of sugar. I found it to be just a tad too sweet for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I thought this was a great recipe. I did cut way back on the sugar. Although I prefer my version; I used cooked Vermicelli Noodles, and I heated everything together in 1 pan, including the sauce and coleslaw. It was similar to a Veitnamese Noodle dish. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeborahL7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
So so good!! I didn't have enough cashews, so I mixed in peanuts as well. I will definitely be making this again! Try it, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8K8VT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States