Chinese Cabbage Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Good....I hate to say it...but may actually totally omit the ramen noodles next time (hubby didnt care for that part of the slaw)...I added sliced almonds instead of the cashews, a bunch of small broccoli floretts...reduced the oil to 5 tablspns of evoo, reduced the sugar by half and added a splash of sesame oil to the dressing as well. I also doubled the slaw to 2 pks. and did not double the dressing as it was plenty for 2 pks of slaw. The dressing was excellent, slaw was good, almonds were toasted and crunchy....noodles were not a hit. I also agree with another reviewer and that assembly is key so as not to "sog" out this slaw. Nice Asian flavors, will make again, just w/o the noodles. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Loved this! Made as written except I shredded my own cabbage instead of buying bagged cold slaw. I had everything seperated and tossed right before I served. Loved the cashews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
My guests beg for this salad. I have learned that when you dress it is key. Too early and it swims. Too late and it doesn't have time to blend. About 30 minutes prior to eating seems about ideal. I also keep each item stored seperately for use as a dinner side (dressing, toasted items, and slaw). This way it lasts longer as the dressed version gets soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZBURAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
very good recipe! I added the oriental season packet because we like flavor in my family. The dressing has to be blended in the magic bullet or something similar to it or else it doesn't mix well!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Made this with the following changes- Used 1/2 Sesame Oil and 1/2 olive oil Added toasted sesame seeds to toasted noodles with the nuts.( Did use the seasoning packet) Also added well drained pineapple chunks and mandarin oranges. Cut back sugar to 1/4 cup. Rave reviews at the party/BBQ I catered today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy S

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
YUMMMMMMM This is great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I used almonds instead and it was wonderful. If you are not going to be able to eat the entire salad in one day, put the dressing on the side...it gets really mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Great salad! The dressing is amazing. I have had another type of cabbage salad that uses the seasoning packet from the top ramen and I did not like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dutch Harbor, Alaska, USA
Living In: Nooksack, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I love to make this during the Arizona summers its a great filling and cooling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States