Chinese Cabbage Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I cut the oil a little bit and used chow mein noodles instead of ramen and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Delicious! I cut the oil in half and subbed Splenda for the sugar, and it still tasted great! Like other reviewers, I'd advise letting the salad sit so that the dressing can soak into the cabbage. You can also use slivered almonds instead of cashews, if you prefer. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Mmm....i just made this to go with meatloaf sandwiches last nite. It was really good. I let it soak for about 30 minutes before serving so the dressing would absorb into the cabbage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This was fantastic. My family and friends could not stop talking about it or eating it. I did toast the ramen and cashews in a light coating of butter. Wow, what flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I added a little fresh ginger to the dressing which was fantastic. I definitely recommend toasting the ramen in a tiny bit of butter first. It takes away the just out of the package flavor that the ramen noodles have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Good....I hate to say it...but may actually totally omit the ramen noodles next time (hubby didnt care for that part of the slaw)...I added sliced almonds instead of the cashews, a bunch of small broccoli floretts...reduced the oil to 5 tablspns of evoo, reduced the sugar by half and added a splash of sesame oil to the dressing as well. I also doubled the slaw to 2 pks. and did not double the dressing as it was plenty for 2 pks of slaw. The dressing was excellent, slaw was good, almonds were toasted and crunchy....noodles were not a hit. I also agree with another reviewer and that assembly is key so as not to "sog" out this slaw. Nice Asian flavors, will make again, just w/o the noodles. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Loved this! Made as written except I shredded my own cabbage instead of buying bagged cold slaw. I had everything seperated and tossed right before I served. Loved the cashews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
My guests beg for this salad. I have learned that when you dress it is key. Too early and it swims. Too late and it doesn't have time to blend. About 30 minutes prior to eating seems about ideal. I also keep each item stored seperately for use as a dinner side (dressing, toasted items, and slaw). This way it lasts longer as the dressed version gets soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZBURAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
very good recipe! I added the oriental season packet because we like flavor in my family. The dressing has to be blended in the magic bullet or something similar to it or else it doesn't mix well!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States