Chinese Cabbage Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I made this salad for a gathering of about 40 people and everyone raved. It took about an hour to prepare the way I did it. I thinly sliced 2 large heads of green cabbage. I used 6 bunches of green onions. I chopped a 15 oz. container of whole almonds (because I had them in the house) and toasted them in melted butter in a large stainless fry pan. Put them in a large bowl then melted some more butter in the same pan and stirred in 5 packages of crushed ramen noodles with the chicken flavor packets sprinkled over them, and cooked until toasted. Tossed the noodles and almonds together, and turned them out over the cabbage and green onions that I had put into a large roasting pan. I tripled the dressing ingredients, using rice vinegar instead of cider vinegar, and superfine sugar. I made the dressing first, before I started preparing everything else, so that the sugar would dissolve and the flavors blend. Poured the dressing over everything and tossed it a bit and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I totally screwed up this recipe and it still came out delicious! Forgot to oven brown the noodles and nuts. I only had slivered almonds on hand. Used rice vinegar, and used light olive oil. Made a half recipe using 1/4 of a large cabbage thinly sliced and chopped. Wonderful summer salad and it went well with Egg Foo Yung II on this site! Always love quick and easy...thanks for sharing! 1/27/15 update: I forgot to use the rice vinegar and used regular cidar vinegar...not nearly as good! It lacked the zip it had with the rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Fantastic - just the way the recipe is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This salad is delicious! I took the advice of other reviews and sprinkled part of the chicken seasoning packet over the noodles and cashews before roasting them. I also added 1 Tablespoon of sesame oil to the vegetable oil. I used a fresh cabbage, 1/2 of a large one, shredded fine. I brought it to a potluck and people asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I've tried a lot of Japanese ramen salads and pretty much like them all. It's my favourite salad. Up until know I thought the recipe I was using was good but WOW this one is out of this world delicious. I substituted almonds for the cashews because that is what I had on hand. I browned them in a pan on the stovetop. Oven was full. I followed the ingredients as written the only thing i did differently was I added 1 tbsp sesame oil the first time I made it and this time I didn't change a thing other than add the seasoning from the ramen noodles. I actually think it tasted better as written so that is how I will rate it not on my changes. I did however only use 1/2 of the dressing for the package of coleslaw I had. The package was a 397 gram (14 oz) and for our taste it was plenty juicy. Thanks for this recipe which keeps this my favourite salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This salad is delicious and so easy to prepare! It's a great alternative to the average coleslaw too. It's a keeper at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Blackburn Alldredge

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This was super yummy. It is very sweet, but I think that is a good thing. The noodles and cashews go super well with the dressing. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Great recipe although I did make some of the adjustments suggested by other reviewers. I decreased the oil to 1/3 cup and decreased the sugar to 1/4 cup. I also added a tablespoon of sesame oil. All of my friends devoured this salad and absolutely raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Easiest one yet. Instead of heating the oven, I toasted the noodles and cashews in butter. My kids who hate cabbage smelled it, tried it, didn't care that it was cabbage, and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook4kids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States