'Chinese Buffet' Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
**IMPORTANT NOTE** Thanks to everyone who has tried this recipe! After reading all of the comments I think it is important to note that there can be a BIG difference between the "asian" store and "american" store version of your ingredients. I know that most american versions of soy sauce have a lot more salt, so I am assuming the american version of oyster sauce is also a bit different. We only use the asian store version for all of our ingredients, which is pretty close, if not sometimes the same brand, that they use in the restaurants. So if it didn't turn out for you the first time, try making a stop into your local asian grocer and try again :) ** And for some reason allrecipes changed my cooking instructions, but you do want to turn down down the heat a little once you add in the sauces to prevent burning and my beans actually take closer to 10 mins to cook to my desired tenderness. **
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
439 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roweena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
oh these were so delicious! the only problem i had was that my oyster sauce was cold from having already been opened and stored in the fridge, and when it hit the wok it sort of congealed into some lumps instead of mixing well and creating a sauce, but that was my fault not the recipe's. also, i used regular vegetable oil because that was all i had and i didn't notice any missing flavor not having peanut oil. these tasted just like chinese buffet green beans! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Thank you Roweena!!!! Loved this recipe! For years, my family also made a Bee-line for the green beans at the Chinese Buffet - we could have made a meal on the beans alone. Now, I can make them simply and easily right at home any time I want. I used haricot vert green beans found at Sam's, and I did blanch them in boiling water for 3 minutes before sauting them. I was also unsure of the oyster sauce, so I cut back a bit on that, but next time, I'll use the full amount the recipe calls for... so good, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
While these weren't the prettiest green beans I've ever made, they sure were one of the tastiest! Such great flavor! I didn't add the sugar and don't regret it. I added fresh minced garlic and am glad I did. The oyster and soy sauces give these a dark brown coating which doesn't make them the most attractive (plus I overcooked mine) but I'll call these green beans one good "ugly duckling!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
yummy with a few tweaks (i'm used to certain green beans from yang chow in LA, CA). fresh green beans - steamed them till tender first and set aside (since cooking them with the garlic tends to make the garlic burn by the time the beans are good). then sauteed minced garlic and ~1.5 teaspoons of fresh grated ginger. instead used 2 tb of soy and 1-2 tsp of oyster sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
These were okay but the flavors didn't stand out. We also thought that they were way too sweet. I may try again and leave the sugar out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I have made similar green bean recipes before using only soy sauce but they never seemed just "right." The oyster sauce is the real key! This is an excellent side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Great flavor - I followed the recipe exactly except to mix some sesame oil in with the peanut oil. The sauce is so tasty and you could add more veggies of your liking. A versatile recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Usually the beans on the buffet are my favorite- these are not as good as the Chinese Buffet. Sugar was easy to burn. Next time will try steaming beans a little before adding sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I chose to use sesame oil and I used low sodium soy sauce. I tossed in 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper and two tablespoons of toasted sesame seeds before serving. Huge hit--we loved it! NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States