'Chinese Buffet' Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Both DH and I could not get enough of this and ended up eating it way before the rest of the dinner was ready! Thank you so much! I'm a huge fan of green beans when we go out to get some Chinese, and I always wondered how hard they are to make! Love it, love it, and love it some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This is very much like the Chinese restaurant. A bit salty so either we will use more beans or less oyster sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Excellent recipe! My children love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovemykids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Not exactly like the Chinese Buffet's but I think it could be with some tweaking. I've made these once & agree with other reviewers in saying that 2 tbsp's of Oyster sauce is too much. I would recommend using half of what it calls for, adding more garlic & less sugar. Could barely taste the garlic with just 2 cloves. I also, as other reviewers have, to add garlic after green beans have cooked a little as the garlic will scorch if you put it in the pan first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
It was edible but not good. It was WAY too sweet and left me feeling disgusting after. I would not recommend this recipe to anyone. I will NOT be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Wonderful recipe! I used Splenda instead of regular sugar and next time I'll cut back a little on it since sugar replacements seem to be a bit sweeter, but that was definitely my fault. We'll have this again soon - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Excellent taste. Defietely will make again. My husband says these are the best. Never wants me to try other green bean recipes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This one is the real deal, folks! The only things I did differently is used chopped garlic rather than slices. I added the chopped garlic midway into the cooking time so it wouldn't brown too much. Because I didn't have oyster sauce, I used fish sauce and it works just as well. This is wonderful and I fully intend to continue making these beans. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
more garlic and use brown sugar. Add some hot pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue Ridge Mountains

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
These are the ultimate green beans. An exact replica of the ones from the Chinese buffet I go to. I think the sauce could even be used for other things. I lve them. Thank u for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States