'Chinese Buffet' Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This looked great and tasted great. I should have taste tested one before serving because I needed to cook them a little longer. Will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Simply amazing. Just like at the restaurant. I mince my garlic instead of slice it. Personal preference. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
good, need to add a bit more sugar make sure to cook beans first BEFORE adding sauces. also keep a good watch on garlic, burns easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, Illinois, USA
Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is my husband's favorite veggie...he requests them often. Last night I made 1/2 a pound of beans (kept the rest of the recipe as is) and added some sliced up left over chicken. It was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gebah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pompton Plains, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
These were great! I didn't have oyster sauce, but they still ended up tasting like the chinese buffet beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
My husband and I were not huge fans. Just a note of caution, oyster sauce is a very distinct flavor. I think that is why we really did not like it much. To us, you could really taste it in this dishTo us, it was like the chinese green beans we have had in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
We eat a lot of green beans, so I'm always looking for new ways to serve them. I've made this recipe a number of times, as written and with some tweaks. It is delicious as written, but I find the oyster sauce a little too strong (you get a bit of a "fishy" aftertaste). I prefer to swap the amounts of soy sauce and oyster sauce, but that's just my personal preference. Either way, these are delicious green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
yummy with a few tweaks (i'm used to certain green beans from yang chow in LA, CA). fresh green beans - steamed them till tender first and set aside (since cooking them with the garlic tends to make the garlic burn by the time the beans are good). then sauteed minced garlic and ~1.5 teaspoons of fresh grated ginger. instead used 2 tb of soy and 1-2 tsp of oyster sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Added about 6 sliced garlic cloves to canola oil with a splash of seasame oil. Added the green beans. They were done after about 2 minutes. Then added the sauces, for another 2 minutes. The garlic cloves got burnt but everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
YUM! I made it just as written and it was so good - except for the fact that it was quite salty. Next time I'll cut the soy and oyster sauces in half.. or maybe even dilute the sauce in some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States