Chinese Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I simply love Gai Lan. It is one of the best veggies I've ever had. I have found it at Chinese and Vietnamese markets, but usually I get it at the China Market near my house. It's bitter so ends up going really well with a sweeter sauce. This recipe is VERY close to what I usually do so I feel justified in reviewing it. When I blanch my gai lan, I put in a teaspoon of salt, teaspoon of baking soda and a thick slice of ginger (or some bottled minced is good too) in the water. For the sauce I like using some oyster sauce so it's half hoisin/half oyster. (I use vegetarian oyster sauce purchased at the Chinese market). I've also left out the oil and been fine, but the oil is good too. Other than that my recipe is pretty much the same. You could do less garlic if you don't like it, but I love garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Directions are easy to follow and the gai lan was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifertse10

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
even though I didn't have hoisin, this was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Great combination of flavors for Gai Lan. I didn't boil it, just sauted in a bit of oil before adding the sauce. I added a cubed small kohlrabi as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lace
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I used this with regular broccoli. This will be my go-to recipe for Asian style vegetables, I loved how the cornstarch in the sauce made it thick enough to cling to my veggies! Thanks for the recipe, I wish they sold Chinese broccoli here as that would be a wonderful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Yum. Next time I think I'll add a bit more garlic and some crushed red pepper. My DH wanted to give it 10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Very good! Didn't change a thing! This is a must everyone should try. 12yr old son said this is better than broccoli with cheese that says alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
LOVED this recipe! We are huge fans of Broccoli so this was an exciting new one to try for us. I used regular broccoli, but it was still amazing. I doubled the sauce so that I could use some for a stir fry the next day. Good idea, that also turned out great! I wouldn't change a thing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Simple & Delicious, served with noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this with regular broccoli and LOVED it, even though I'm not normally a fan. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States