Chinese Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I simply love Gai Lan. It is one of the best veggies I've ever had. I have found it at Chinese and Vietnamese markets, but usually I get it at the China Market near my house. It's bitter so ends up going really well with a sweeter sauce. This recipe is VERY close to what I usually do so I feel justified in reviewing it. When I blanch my gai lan, I put in a teaspoon of salt, teaspoon of baking soda and a thick slice of ginger (or some bottled minced is good too) in the water. For the sauce I like using some oyster sauce so it's half hoisin/half oyster. (I use vegetarian oyster sauce purchased at the Chinese market). I've also left out the oil and been fine, but the oil is good too. Other than that my recipe is pretty much the same. You could do less garlic if you don't like it, but I love garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Great combination of flavors for Gai Lan. I didn't boil it, just sauted in a bit of oil before adding the sauce. I added a cubed small kohlrabi as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lace
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I like to use this sauce to toss not only Gai Lan, but also broccoli or green beans. It makes a flavorful veggie side for any asian meat & steamed rice dish. I find that half the sauce is plenty for 1 bunch or 1 pound of veggies, but this is just preference. I like my veggies just lightly coated. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is a yummy recipe. I used regular broccoli because that is what we had on hand. The only thing it is missing is a little heat so I added red pepper flakes for that. Pairs well with Asian Barbequed Steak from this site. Try it you will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaTisa Carrington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dale City, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Very good! Didn't change a thing! This is a must everyone should try. 12yr old son said this is better than broccoli with cheese that says alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I tried this and added it to cabbage instead. I used one clove of garlic and it was still way too much garlic for my taste. I would make again but omit the garlic - or use garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baltimore Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I would describe the sauce as a sweet-and-sour sauce, which my boyfriend did not like at all. He prefers his veggies with more of a savory sauce, so this wasn't a winner for us. Also, the sauce was very, very thick. I had to add water to keep it from turning into jello. I think it might be because I used a prepared hoisin sauce from the grocery store instead of the regular kind you get at the asian market, which has the consistency of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was good, but something tasted a little off to me. There are other asian inspired veggie recipes I like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
even though I didn't have hoisin, this was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was awesome and easy. We used a bag of frozen regular broccoli. Our kids LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States