Chinese Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
It's not supposed to be hoisin sauce! You're supposed to use oyster sauce!!!! I'm Chinese and the Chinese name for this dish is literally "oyster sauce gai lan". I don't know how I could have missed it when following this recipe but I used the hoisin sauce like it says and it turned out totally different than what it's supposed to taste like. At first I thought it was because it had too much sugar, then I realized it never asked for the key ingredient-oyster sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I dunno. It was okay. I don't buy premade sauces, but somehow it seemed like it came from a jar. Yes, the hoisin did; but you understand, right?! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Thank you for recipe. Just made it for dinner. Me and my family love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeane Wenas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
My variation on the sauce: 1T Worcestershire Sauce 1T Lite Soy Sauce 1T Vinegar 1T Sesame Oil 1/2t Ground Ginger 2T Minced Garlic 1t Black Pepper Add sauteed mushroom/onions into sauce, if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Great flavor and a big hit with the family, who normally doesn't like Gai Lan. I added a couple Thai chilies to the sauce add a little zing but the flavors are great without, too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
4 stars because I modified for my family's taste: Halved the sugar and hoisin, doubled the vinegar. Used sauce on broccoli last night, but plan to use on many other veggies in future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Oh so good! Will make again! Since I'm gluten free, I made it with g/f ingredients. Can't go to Chinese restaurants because of being g/f, so this was a wonderful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Really good. We used the leftover sauce to put on tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mahwah, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Good recipe. Pretty fast to make too. The only thing I would do would be to cut back a bit on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Very strong flavor. Part of my family liked it some loved it. I used baby broccoli found in the Chinese section as well. Next time I will cut back on the hoisin sauce maybe by 1T and see if that is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Flachsbart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States