Chinese Broccoli Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Delicious! I didn't have the sesame seeds or almonds, but not necessary, it still turned out great! I used a bag of Vegetable stir fry, so it had broccoli, carrots, and snow peas. I added a packed of vegetable seasoning but I'm not sure it was necessary. I think the Apple cider vinegar gives a good strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Excellent and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I liked this recipe, easy,get your veggies too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy
Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This salad is super fast to throw together and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I add a small can of mandarin oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was DELICIOUS! I tried to make it a little healthier by using only a TBSP of butter and then spraying canola cooking oil on the ramen noodles before baking. I also reduced the sugar by half in the seasoning. I didn't have broccoli slaw, just two big heads of broccoli to use, so I cut them into bite size florets, shredded up half a bag of baby carrots and used that instead. What a wonderful way to get your raw veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bel920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Enjoyable salad. I made 1/2 of the dressing and it was still a lot of dressing. I did not use the butter but 1 tbsp. of sesame oil instead of butter & put it in a large fry pan on medium heat for 5 minutes. Also used olive oil in the dressing instead of veg. oil. It made it a bit more healthy. I used the seasoning packet in the beef ramen noodles and low-sodium soy sauce in the dressing. I only used one packet of noodles as there was plenty and I wanted to taste the vegetables and keep the calories down. I make a similar salad with regular coleslaw but I really enjoyed the broccoli slaw for a change and will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is a good recipe, but let me clue you guys in to a few alterations you can make: 1- There's no need to put 1/4 cup of butter. Just steam your broccoli. 2- You can crush the ramen and use it as a crunchy garnish instead of making it mushy by cooking it. Ramen noodles are fried, thus already cooked. Or alternately you can use those chow mein noodles that come in a can. 3- You can use red wine vinegar for better taste. 4- Yes, you are supposed to put in the seasoning packet, or if you use chow mein noodles you can use a little soy sauce, garlic powder, onion powder, and black pepper... since that's basically all that's in oriental flavored ramen seasoning packets. 5- You can add a little seasame oil. 6- You can add toasted slivered almonds. 7- If you want to bring this to a pot luck or something, make it with grilled chicken breast and a head of cabbage instead of broccoli. The cabbage and chicken really absorb the flavor of the dressing, and it's DOUBLE fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZeroCreature

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chittenango, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I love this recipe!! The only change I made was that I just melted the butter in a pan and added the noodles and seeds. It's much faster than doing the whole oven baking. Just cook them in the butter until golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Cartwright-Diekevers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grandville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States