Chinese Broccoli Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I want to share a summer version a friend gave me. Using the Brobboli slaw mix and green onion, add sunflower seeds and the raw crushed noodles. Instead of using the oriental flavor soup, use the beef flavor ramen instead. I haven't made it with soy sauce. This dish does well at picnics compared to salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Yummy! I am eating it right now and love it. Was looking for something to use up a bag of brocc slaw in my cabinet. I had to fudge with a few small things (didn't have sesame seeds) but overall was true to the recipe. I'll be intentional about getting the nuts and seeds next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I made two changes to the original recipe. 1.) Used 3T of Splenda in place of the sugar. 2.) Used only one packet of the noodle seasoning. I made this ahead of time & kept the slaw/green onions in one container, the noodles/almonds/sesame seeds in another contaner & the dressing separate. About one hour before dinner, I tossed the slaw/green onions with the dressing & did not add the noodle combination until just before serving. Everything stayed nice & crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This was good, tasty, but a bit salty. I also had headaches for three days while we ate up the leftovers. In hindsight, it might have been the MSG in the packaged seasoning. MSG always gives me trouble. Good, but I'll need to find a different way to make a tasty sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Am going to make this for Easter Sunday. Will let you know how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GALEFISHER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I used sunflower seeds instead of sesame seeds and I skipped the butter, but did toast the ramen noodles, almonds and seeds in the oven before using to give them a better flavor. I used balsamic vinegar and olive oil in the dressing too. The family loved it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I love this as a side dish to anything. I make it just for myself because it's a favorite of mine. I first tasted it at a pot luck at work and it was a big hit. The lady who made it gave me the recipe with the few tweaks she made to it which were less sugar and she omitted the sunflover seeds. I personally like it with all the goodies in it but that's me and I love reading how everyone changes up the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maree Castillo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I made this last night with just a few simple changes and it turned out well. First, along with the sesame seeds and almonds I threw in some pine nuts (because we looove them:) I also used olive oil in place of salad oil with no noticeable difference. Unfortunately I tried to cut the sugar in half to make it a bit healthier, but the resulting dressing was just not good - even though I added the two ramen seasoning packets. I think next time I will add the whole amount (maybe try Splenda, though.) Also, with rotisserie chicken added this could be a full and delicious meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
a great way to use up broccoli stems. for the slaw mix i peeled and cut off the rough ends of my broccoli. then i shredded them along w/ a carrot and some cabbage for the slaw mix. i only had sunflower seeds so i dry toasted them in a skillet and combined those w/ the slaw mix and raw crushed ramen. i mixed up the dressing ings and dressed the salad rigt before serving. the hubs didnt even know he was eating broccoli. i served this w/ the Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs from this site over rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Yummy! All my kids liked this - and that's saying something!! Not sure what the last person is talking about. It does say to add the seasoning packets in the instructions. Very easy to assemble, esp. because you buy the "broccoli slaw" mix at the store by the bagged salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States